My Reviews (1,168)

Creamy Tomato Pasta Sauce

Cream is a great addition to a tomato and herb pasta sauce. Serve over your favourite pasta with cheese.
Reviews (1168)


17 Oct 2006
Reviewed by: vanessajbaca
So delicious! I pureed mine in the blender as I prefer smooth creamy sauces, and I added three garlic cloves as I love garlic. I used only half of the onion, and substituted 3/4 cup of skim milk instead of the heavy cream to cut back on calories. The addition of Italian seasoning added an extra zip and zing. Served over fresh cheese ravioli and with a side green salad, it was a fantastic and simple meal. If you double the recipe, you can freeze the remainder of sauce and have on hand for guests or cold nights when you crave comforting pasta dishes. A terrific recipe that I will make again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Sep 2006
Reviewed by: AGGIEMOM03
Very good! A winner in my book. I substituted fat-free half and half for the cream,cut the butter a little and doubled the garlic. I also used my hand blender and smoothed it a little, so that it wasn't super chunky but still had texture. Hubby loved it. Served it over organic spinach fetuccini with spicy italian sausage sliced on top. Beautiful meal!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Jun 2007
Reviewed by: Bess
This sauce has a great flavor to it--sweet but not cloying. I must concur with other reviewers: the consistency is a bit too thin. I suspect this could be thickened without sacrificing too much flavor by adding flour according to taste. Flour is usually an ingredient in cream sauces, but is absent from this particular recipe. Spices and tomatoes may need to be increased if flour is added, but the sauce should become satisfactorily viscous. I suggest adding flour in small quantities, being cautious not to use too much.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Jun 2009
Reviewed by: Jillian
Incredibly good and so easy to make! I doubled the sauce and used half and half instead of cream. The only thing I added to thicken it was a 6 oz. can of tomato paste. I will make this again and again. With recipes like this, there's no need to buy jarred sauces!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Nov 2005
Reviewed by: Butterfly Flutterby
This was excellent and easy. I didn't have Italian style tomatoes so I used petite diced and added 1 tsp of Italian seasonings. I only used 1/2 of an onion, otherwise made to recipe. Delicious, served over mini penne pasta and shredded parmesan. Wish I had grilled chicken to go over top. One complaint: this really only made enough for 3 servings, no way 5 unless this was for a side dish. Thank you.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Aug 2007
Reviewed by: Jessie
This has become my staple sauce since I first discovered it on this site. I have made it a countless number of times now, both as per recipe for a small scale, and slightly altered for a much larger scale. Regardless, I always use more garlic than called for and always run the whole thing through the blender to smooth the sauce. This is absolutely delicious and always receives rave reviews. Quick, easy, and foolproof - what more could you ask for?
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 May 2010
Reviewed by: Michael E
WOW! What a great sauce! So here's what I did...like another member, after cooking tomatoes, onion, garlic and spices in saucepan, I put mixture into blender and pureed. Then I put back into saucepan, stirred in 3/4 cup nonfat milk (in place of heavy cream) and butter. I left out sugar altogether. Didn't need it. I added a small amount of grated parmesan cheese to give it an extra kick. What I got was a sauce that tasted like it was full of fat and calories, but it was actually almost fat free and very healthy! Not to mention, it was EXTREMELY easy to make. Definitely a keeper!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Oct 2007
Reviewed by: nomoredrama31
sauteed onions, mushrooms, garlic and red pepper, then added tomatoes, brought to a boil..... Then I pureed the whole thing in blender. My family has yet to know off these added, rarely eaten (by them) veggies........I replaced fat free half-n-half for heavy whipping cream (as I do most things, too much fat & calories for us) and added fresh grated Parmaggiano cheese! The sugar is important (altho I use Splenda) to help take adge off the tomato taste. Was yummy and very creamy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: UTOPIA122
This was a great sauce for our pasta. I didn't have any Italian diced tomatoes so I just used regular and added italian seasoning. Also, didn't have heavy cream on hand, so I used 3/4 of a cup of whole milk and 1/3 cup of butter. I added red pepper flakes (husband likes it hot) and a little all-purpose flour to thicken and it was wonderful. Will definitely make again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: Emily G
Ok, I have made this twice now. I still don't love it. It is sweet in a disgusting way, and the texture is weird because of the chunky tomatoes and all the dried basil. Maybe I will spring for fresh next time! I am going to make it again, and try other reviews' suggestions to put it through the blender. I added probably 1.5 T of flour, which really helped thicken it and make it a great consistency, not runny. I like the flavor but must try it with these modifications, and without the sugar...
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes