My Reviews (71)

Simple Tomato and Basil Pasta Sauce

A simple and fresh tasting pasta sauce. It can be left chunky or pureed in a blender. The fresh basil added at the end is essential.
Reviews (71)


02 Oct 2009
Reviewed by: Chef Jimbly
I just made this and it was amazing! I only prepared for 2 servings, and kept all of the ingredients in the same proportions, only with 3 differences: -added 3/4oz cream cheese during simmer -substituted white vinegar for balsamic -used crush basil during simmer, topping with fresh basil upon serving RIDICULOUSLY TASTY, and very simple too
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: Gitano
Excellent sauce... I used fresh tomatoes (8 romas) as I avoid all canned goods due to high sodium counts. I doubled the red pepper flakes and halved the sugar but left the rest the way as stated. Once done cooking and before adding the basil, I used my immersion blender to thicken it up with the chopped tomatoes/onions. Excellent served over any pasta. Have made this once already and forgot to review Good stuff! thanks for the recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: emilyv
Good, fresh recipe. Make sure you use good quality balsamic vinegar. If you do not have fresh basil, add dried basil when the tomatoes and other ingredients are added. Bring to a boil, cover and reduce heat. Allow to simmer for at least an hour for full flavor.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Sep 2011
Reviewed by: dan
The best tomato sauce we've had, including any from a restaurant (and dare I say even better than dishes we had in Italy). Made a couple tweaks: used fresh tomatoes (roughly about 7-8 tomatoes), used a couple extra tablespoons good extra virgin olive oil and a little more balsamic (roughly 1-1.5 tablespoons, instead of teaspoons), and did not use any sugar (it was sweet enough from the tomatoes and balsamic). I also used 1 extra clove of garlic. We left the red pepper flakes out, and each person could add to their own dish. It was absolutely fabulous, and this will forever be my go-to red sauce recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: Joanne
Wow just made this is so easy and so tasty. Would recommend to try. Also think would be nice with some mushrooms.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Dec 2011
Reviewed by: equanimity
This was great. Increased the garlic, pureed the canned tomatoes, used only 1/2 tsp of sugar, as I don't care for sweet tasting sauce, and pinch of red pepper flakes. The fresh basil at the end really pulls it all together. Used it with "Hearty vegetable Lasagna" recipe on this site. It was great!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Mar 2012
Reviewed by: Trey's Mumma
Flavor was great - although I'd put in even MORE basil, let it simmer, let it SIMMER! And I'd puree it too - always better pureed! Thanks for the delicious recipe - this recipe has convinced me, you can use canned tomatoes...
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: Amherst Mama
Thank you for the great recipe, Carolyn. I did not change a thing. We loved the zing of the red pepper flakes - even the five year old had seconds. It's a great way to use some of the basil rolling in from the garden.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Oct 2009
Reviewed by: Lisa
Very easy and tasty. I'll probably be making this often.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: SometimeCook
I made this sauce mostly according to the directions. I did puree the onions and canned tomatoes (I don't care for chunky sauce). I substitued 1 cube of frozen chopped basil (from Trader Joe's) for the fresh basil. It was ok - fresher tasting than using canned tomato sauce. However, it was too sweet. My family commented it was too sweet also. I would cut the sugar in half, maybe less. If you want some zip to it, you might want to use more red pepper flakes, as I didn't taste any spiciness at all. I'm still looking for that perfect light tomato sauce.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes