My Reviews (37)

Portobello Mushroom Pasta with Veggies

A quick and easy pasta dish with mushrooms, capsicum and zucchini. The red wine vinegar gives it an interesting zing.
Reviews (37)


21 Jul 2009
Reviewed by: dbray
OMG! This is so good. We have been trying to eat vegetarian a few evening a weeks in an effort to be healthier. So far most of the dishes have either failed or been so-so. This is a keeper. The only changes I made was to use balsamic vinegar (no wine vinegar in the pantry), add carmalized onions, roasted garlic and summer squash because I had all on hand. Took others advice and added extra garlic and herbs. Can't wait to make again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 May 2008
Reviewed by: gapch1026
Fresh spinach is nice veggie in this pasta because of the vinegar sauce. I added the parmesan and tossed with the pasta before serving so the flavor would be in every bite. Very tasty.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Mar 2002
Reviewed by: HERMIONEROSE
I cooked this recipie for the girls in my scholarship hall for lunch today, and all I got were rave reviews. I reccomend adding a bit of either garlic salt or salt to the recipie to enhance the flavor of all the veggies. Pepper works well too. If I had made it for a small group of people, it would have been very quick.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Sep 2002
Reviewed by: KIMBERLY KAY
Great to be so healthy! To make it a full meal, I threw two chopped up chicken breasts in with the veggies. I really felt it needed flavor, but after adding healthy amounts of lemon pepper, seasoning salt, and Oregano (don't forget to taste to make sure it's salted and peppered to your liking), I was quite pleased. Try stirring sour cream (I use fat-free) in with your leftovers for an even yummier version.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: SharonC
I read all the reviews and followed the advice to add garlic, Italian seasonings, etc., and to pour off the excess liquid. We were pleased with the result. A very good cook and friend says on her cooking blog (Banging On Pots And Pans) that you should never change a recipe and rate the recipe based on your changes, so this rating is based on the original recipe. After the suggested changes, it becomes a 5 star.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: lovestohost
This is a great simple pasta dish. I did add a bit of diced onion out of habit (EVOO, garlic, onion...I was chopping and adding on rote!) and enjoyed the addition. I'm not sure how many mushrooms I added; I purchased a *tub* of the pre sliced baby bellas. I will double them next time. I also added a few dashes of crushed red pepper for a little heat. This is a super quick & easy meatless meal. I enjoyed the combination of the red bells and zukes. THANKS, for a great recipe, Patricia (and thanks RE user AZ for steering me towards this recipe!)!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: Caroline
Yummm! This was a treat! I added chicken, garlic powder, italian seasoning, onions, and some squash. How tasty and healthy, the whole family enojyed this-goes good with a salad!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 May 2005
Reviewed by: AMBERUCF
Not so great- I used only 1/2 the box of pasta and I still didn't feel like there were enough veggies. It was dry, bland, and unexciting, even with extra additions of salt, pepper, and more garlic. Maybe it's better after it sits and all the flavors blend? I won't make this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Aug 2012
Reviewed by: Citybyrd
My rating scale (cause number of stars is subjective): 1-Didn't like it, 2-It's okay, 3-Liked it, 4-Loved it, 5-Can't get enough of it. ***** Very simple, healthy and delicious. Didn't add the parm for cooking, but provided on the side to add at the table.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: NMChef1
This was pretty good and healthy for a simple dish. I made it exactly as written, and this was the first time I'd ever cooked with portabello mushrooms. I was a little bit surprised at a pasta dish with no sauce (other than the little bit of red wine vinegar), but it worked nicely. I hardly noticed the cheeese, though; I love cheese and wouldn't have minded a lot more here. I did find that, unlike some other recipes, reheated leftovers of this dish were not nearly as nice as fresh, so I'd recommend that it be shared and eaten right away. (I did get a little confused by a glitch in the directions; I wondered why the veggies were being sauteed "dry"; then noticed that the directions never mentioned using the olive oil that was listed in the ingredients.)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes