My Reviews (360)

Crunchy Pasta Salad

This is a fairly plain pasta salad with lots of crunch - I make it as a BBQ salad cos it's big and it's simple - so everyone can eat it. Add more dressing if you think it needs it. Chilling before you serve it helps the flavour but I don't serve it cold.
Reviews (360)


15 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: ROSIESTOES
We really enjoyed this. I made is exactly with the exception of using about 3/4 bottle of a lite italian/cheese dressing and adding sliced olives. Lots of chopping but worth it. Served with Sloppy Joes 2, made with ground turkey breast. Yummy! Lots of leftovers!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 May 2011
Reviewed by: Carol
I've been making this salad for years with a few variations. I only use 1 bottle fat free zesty italian (mid size bottle) then I add garlic powder, black pepper and some salad supreme seasoning to taste. Without these seasonings it was a bit flat. I tend to use the same veggies plus broccoli but is good with any variety of veggies. I've made both with and without cheese and have also added pepperoni and olives, depending on who's coming to dinner. A great hit at potlucks and cookouts (have had requests for it for summer wedding receptions also) I usually make this with tri color spiral pasta but have also made it with spaghetti noodles broken in half....calling it spaghetti salad..generally I use peppers, celery, onion, tomatoes, olives and pepperoni with that version. Add cheese just before serving or will get gunky. I prefer cubed but have used shredded. I make mine the night before, mixing a few times so flavors blend well, then mix well just before serving. This salad has always been a great hit and I will make it for many years to come!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: Nicki81780
This is a good basic recipe. I did Good Season's Itialian dressing where you mix oil, vinegar, water and the italian season packet. I put in sugar snap peas and frozen thawed peas. Also, and this is a MUST, add fresh dill, fresh flat leaf parsley and 1-2 fresh basil leaves. If you grow your own this works great! I also added garlic salt, lots of fresh ground pepper and lemon juice (gives it a little zing). I am asked to make this all the time for pot lucks or family gatherings. If you are feeling especially generous add small fresh mozzarella balls.....people go nuts for them! Hope this helps!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Jul 2003
Reviewed by: Creed
Not bad, but, as another reviewer said, this really is just Italian dressing on pasta. I do like the veggies though. I used pre-shredded carrots from a bag to save time. I also felt that 2 entire bottles of Italian dressing was way, way too much! I mixed all the other ingredients together first, then added the dressing slowly and kept tasting it until I felt it was just right. The Parmesan is a nice touch.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Apr 2011
Reviewed by: georgi porgi
Made this today for hubby's potluck and it's delicious.The only thing different I did was I added black olives and didn't add all the dressing but it's a keeper.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 May 2011
Reviewed by: misser
This is basically the same pasta sald recipe i use.. i use tri color rotini, black olives, tomatoes, cukes, green peppers, pepperoni, sharp cheese, itailian dressing and my trick is adding the spice salad supreme to the salad let it set over night to absorb all the dressing.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 May 2011
Reviewed by: trish-the-dish
This is a nice salad for spring/summer. A chance to use those fresh veggies! I added broccoli and various spices as suggested by other reviewers. I used the Zesty Italian dressing and only 3/4 of a bottle. I agree with one reviewer that more veggies should/could be added. The next time I make it, I plan to leave the veggies chopped more coarsely, instead of diced. Good recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 May 2011
Reviewed by: 1animallover
I have been making this for years and it is always a big hit at picnics, etc. I use McCormick's Salad Seasoning (I don't measure - just sprinkle to taste) and about 2/3 of a bottle of Italian salad dressing. YUM!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 May 2011
Reviewed by: smarianne
I use wheat pasta 1# box, adding all fresh veggies, carrots, celery, mushrooms, cherry tomatoes, red onions, zucchini, black & green olives, cukes (optional) 8 oz package of cracker barrel cheese cut into chunks, 1/2 bottle lite cesar dressing 1/2 bottle lite italian dressing and about a half a bottle of McCormicks Salad Supreme (or to taste) this really makes it. This is the best, let me know what you think :-) Adding only 4 stars since mine is different and 2 bottles dressing is way to much.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Sep 2002
Reviewed by: Nikkole
A little heavy on the dressing, so next time I will only use 1 bottle. Otherwise it was great, and a big hit at our BBQ.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes