My Reviews (85)

Cinnamon Tea Cake

Quick and easy egg-free tea cake topped with cinnamon sugar. Not too sweet and beautiful for morning or afternoon tea.
Reviews (85)


02 Jul 2016
Reviewed by: Shazzy3
Just installed a new smeg oven and wanted this to be my first teacake to cook on it
 
17 Oct 2001
Reviewed by: TIA
Thanks, Indira! It seems I have tried a thousand egg-free cake recipes since my daughter developed a severe egg allergy. This is the first eggless cake recipe I'll keep. I've tried it twice so far. Best results were when I doubled the recipe and substituted 1 cup of flour, 1 1/2 teaspoons of baking powder and a 1/2 teaspoon of salt for each cup of self-rising flour. A double recipe fills my NordicWare mini-bundt muffin pan, plus a couple of small mini-bundts. The texture was more solid and consistent than recipes that use soy lecithin or potato starch/tapioca substitutes for egg. The cinnamon masks the baking powder flavor just fine. I'm going to try a chocolate version next.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Feb 2006
Reviewed by: VIRGOVICKY
this is the most terrible thing i've ever baked!! it took me over 30 minutes and it was raw and doughy in the middle but crunchy on top. the flavor wasn't even that good. i dissapointed my whole family when i served it for breakfast and it was a mess.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: Emily1722
Very delicious for ingredients I already had around the house! The only change I made was I used all purpose flour with 1 teaspoon baking powder and 1/4 teaspoon salt in place of the self-rising flour.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Aug 2003
Reviewed by: COUNTRYCOOKINGAL
Delicious cake, a little plain though. Ever time i made it, it would be gone within a half an hour, so i turned it into a two layer cake and made a topping for it by making a third cake and crumbling it up mixing it with a stick of butter, a 1/2 cup of sugar, and 2 teaspoons of cinnamon. It was just what the cake needed. It made it taste a thousand times better. Everyone raves about this, it was a huge hit at work! and very very simple
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Sep 2002
Reviewed by: SISSI808
Very tasty and simple to make. It's like a snickerdoodle, in cake form. I think that only unsalted butter should be used, though, because I used salted and it came out rather salty. The sweetness offset it, though. It was very sweet as well.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: aunt star
So easy! So good with coffee or hot tea! I bake it in a round cake pan and add a crumb topping (instead of sprinkling with sugar-cinnamon mix from the recipe) creating an almost coffee cake. Besides, it takes mins and I usually have everything in the pantry already.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Oct 2009
Reviewed by: Heather B
Really very good! I'm suprised this doesn't have more reviews and 5 stars! Super easy and tasty. Only downside is it makes very little. Next time I will double the recipe. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Aug 2007
Reviewed by: Sarena
Very delish & easy. I put some tin fruit in the middle and cut back a bit on the butter. To clarify, I'm pretty sure that you put only the the butter, sugar and cinnamon in the pan to heat and then pour that mixture into the self raising flour.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Jan 2004
Reviewed by: BOODGE
This was very good. It's very easy to spice up if you have the spices on hand. Just add some allspice or pumpkin pie spice. Made a nice snack for my kids.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes