My Reviews (351)

Fish Steaks Baked with Feta and Tomatoes

Swordfish or mackerel or any thick fish fillets work well in this simple baked fish dish.
Reviews (351)


06 Sep 2005
Reviewed by: MomSavedbyGrace
I made this for dinner for my husband and my parents, and they all absolutely loved it.......every plate was licked clean! I read all the reviews beforehand and it seemed the only complaint some had was that the fish itself was bland. What I did was marinade the steaks in 8 oz. of Italian Dressing for a few hours. That really made a difference, it kept the fish moist and flavorful and complimented the toppings nicely! Also if you are able, try to use every ingredient in its freshest form - it really helps the taste! I used garlic and herb feta instead of plain and that was great. The last thing I did based on some reviews was loosely cover the dish with foil for the first 8 min., then I uncovered and baked another 8 min. I could really tell how the foil helps the feta not brown too quickly and keeps the tomatoes from turning mushy. Besides its spectacular taste, this dish is a beautiful presentation, perfect for company! I will use again and again! P.S. If you can't get fresh halibut, Trader Joe's sells it for $9.99 lb. Its flash frozen, so it's the next best thing to fresh - you really can't taste the difference!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Feb 2002
Reviewed by: JEREMY3777
This is an amazing recipe. I used more a bit more vegetables than called for and added crushed red pepper and lemon juice and it was just sumptuous! Will definately serve this to guests. Thanks, Dakota!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Apr 2006
Reviewed by: DYAN226
Absolutely incredible!! Being from Washington state my husband is a serious critic when it comes to fish, especially halibut and salmon. He said this is the best he's ever had and that's saying a lot considering his brother-in-law is an Alaskan halibut fisherman and his sister cooks some amazing dishes with halibut. I did marinate in Italian dressing for an hour, used the diced tomatoes with basil and oregano as previously suggested. Used fillet instead of steaks, so it took a little longer to bake. While the fish was baking I sauteed mushrooms and garlic in olive oil and added those to the dish before presenting to the table. Yummm, will make again and again! I can't wait to make this for my sister-in-law!! Thank you for this wonderful dish!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Apr 2005
Reviewed by: WashingtonHuskiesFan
We love this recipe. We make it for ourselves and for company. The colors are gorgeous (white feta, red tomatoes, green basil) and it looks delicious right out of the oven with the feta slightly browned... mmm! We take a nice big piece of fish and throw everything on there (i.e. a whole zucchini, etc) and it's like having a big salad on top of your piece of fish. We don't serve it with any sides because the topping is enough. Just a glass of white wine and you're set! One recommendation -- In order for the fish not to dry out, it's best to use an evenly thick piece of fish. We've made this recipe about 8 times and it always turns out juiciest when the piece has an even thickness. Great recipe for beginner cooks! Really impressive! : )
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Apr 2008
Reviewed by: naples34102
I just eyeballed the ingredients and seasoned the fish with a a lemon pepper seasoning. This is a simple, light and fresh tasting dish that can be eaten totally guilt free! Hubs can't tolerate feta cheese, so unfortunately I had to leave that out, but I'm sure that would have been a delicious addition. I baked this as directed, uncovered, for 15 minutes and it was perfectly done. Beautiful on the plate, and a very satisfying meal that doesn't sit in your stomach like a brick.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Sep 2002
Reviewed by: FRED NIELSON
Now this is the kind of recipe that I like. You, in essence, create a main course and side dish simultaneously. Hence I give it high marks for ease of preperation plus it tastes great. I tried this recipe because it was rated 5 stars and I concur.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Jan 2014
Reviewed by: Crystal S
This recipe took me by surprise.... The topping was a perfect mix of flavors that complemented the halibut beautifully. Easy preparation, flavorful, healthy with a pleasing presentation; what more could a recipe possibly offer? Served with a side of Parmesan and Basil Orzo from this site for a light meal. Thank you Dakota Kelly for the submission.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Oct 2002
Reviewed by: ICOOK4U
Perfect! This meal was extremely easy to cook and at half of the recommended serving I cooked for 15 minutes and the fish turned out moist and cooked to perfection. The colors of the ingredients added to a nice presentation. Definitely a dish to make during any night of the week.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Sep 2002
Reviewed by: JUMALA
This was so good! It had a lot more flavor than I thought it would. I thought the feta might be a little strange with the fish, but the saltiness perfectly complements the fresh vegetables. I loved it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Jul 2002
Reviewed by: TICKLEB270
This recipe was delicious. My mom made it and my family loved it. The feta cheese gives it the perfect touch. All the vegetables were delicious. I would suggest roma tomatoes. It was quick and easy too!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes