My Reviews (45)

Avocado Mayonnaise Salad Dressing

A rich and creamy salad dressing with great texture and flavour. Its quite thick and it definitely tastes better chilled.
Reviews (45)


03 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: Sabra Bartlett
Very impressive and couldn't be simpler to make!!If you substitute nonfat yogurt for the mayonnaise you can eliminate almost all of the fat in this high-fat food while retaining the fiber, potassium, vitamin E, B-vitamins, folic acid, and other nutrients. Fage (pronounced “fa-yeh”) nonfat yogurt is very thick and creamy and will NOT interfere with other flavors. 1 tablespoon of mayo is 90 calories, 10 grams of fat, 5 mg cholesterol, multiply them by the 1 cup (which has 16 tablespoons in it) called for in the recipe and you now have 1,440 calories, 160 grams of fat, and 80 mg cholesterol!! 1 cup of fage nonfat yogurt is a Total of 120 calories, No fat, No cholesterol, and plus you get 20 grams of protein. I used the yogurt and kept the rest of recipe the same and it was delicious!! If you want to use chives in place of green onion you can, and for those of you who don’t want to deal with the messy anchovy fillets, you can use Giovanni’s anchovy paste. 1 hour of chill time was sufficient. Thank you Lisa! Your recipe is full of flavor!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Jul 2003
Reviewed by: MChutka
This dressing was easy and really yummy! I used sour cream instead of mayo and it was still thick so i thinned with Buttermilk till the consistency was right, about 2 Tbs. This topped a romaine lettuce salad full of eggs, warm bacon, anchovies, and roasted nuts -- perfect!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 May 2008
Reviewed by: GSKREMSER
Taking the reviews into consideration, the only thing I changed was the mayo. Instead of 1 cup, I used 2/3 cup mayo and 1/3 cup sour cream. Man, this is the BEST dressing...creamy, flavorful, no fishy taste. Just outstanding.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: chicgeek
MY BAD. I made this 'LITE'...As usual, I put my own spin on this; but overall, delish! Instead of all the mayo, I used 1/4 cup lite mayo and 3/4 cup plain stirred yogurt. Chopped fine some celery in addition to the green onions, and then added some fresh cilantro at the end. Let the flavours marry in fridge!OMG! Tasty AND HEALTHY
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Oct 2001
Reviewed by: MILON
A little messy to make but worth it for the great texture and flavor. Was very good. I improvised a bit by using more avocado, more lemon and less mayonaise and it was still great.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Aug 2001
Reviewed by: ED VANABBEMA
Very tasty, I'm going to try and substitute sour cream for the mayo and see what happens. This is a great tasting recipe
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: lillymyers
LOVE THIS DRESSING!! I made this with 1/2 mayo & sour cream-just the right consistency and texture. My hubby HATES anchovies, so I used anchovy paste & didn't tell him. He kept telling me he loved this dressing, but he said he he couldn't tell what I put into it. After 25 yrs. of marrage bliss I know when to keep a secret!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Feb 2009
Reviewed by: Chef4Six
Good recipe - I made some modifications. I left out the anchovies. I decreased the amount of mayo to about a little less than 1/2 cup and used reduces fat mayo. I increased the lemon juice to about 2 tbsp. and added a pinch of sugar to cut the tartness a bit. I also added some freshly chopped basil to it. It is a very thick dressing so you don't need a lot to cover the salad. I made it about 1 hour before I served the salad. I used it on a romaine salad with red onions, shredded carrots and chopped mixed peppers. Very good!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: Samitestar
I love avocados and green goddess dressing, but this wasn't as tasty as I hoped. The buttery richness of the avocadoes was there and that was about it. The flavor was meh and didn't improve when slathered on shrimp, greens or even crispy orange bell peppers. My search for a lower fat Green Goddess recipe continues . . .
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Jun 2007
Reviewed by: Rachel
This dressing tastes good and is very refreshing if you chill it in the fridge. After reading the other reviews, I made this with sour cream (low-fat) instead of mayo and added some low-fat buttermilk to thin it out. I increased the avacado and green onion as well. I served it on a salad of romaine with hard boiled eggs, and very crisp bacon like one reviewer suggested. FYI this has a pretty strong anchovy taste, so beware of using extra.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes