My Reviews (117)

Sauerkraut Pork Chops

Tender pork loin chops are fried to seal in their juices then simmered with onion, garlic, caraway seed and sauerkraut. This tasty dish is a German mainstay. Enjoy.
Reviews (117)


08 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: DOUXDEVISAGER1
I loved this recipe. This is the BEST way to have sauerkraut!!!! I browned the meat first then baked for 40 minutes at 180. A great meal.
 
21 Jul 2005
Reviewed by: LINDA MCLEAN
Really great recipe Peter! My parents are German, so I grew up on this stuff, but didn't like it when I was a kid. I didn't have any apple juice, so I just added a bit of brown sugar. To make this a more complete meal, I removed the chops after browning and fryed up some bacon pieces. I then added my onions and garlic and then the kraut and caraway seeds, along with a good bottle of beer and some chicken broth. While that was simmering, I placed my chops in a casserole dish and topped them with thinly sliced potatoes. The kraut then went on top of the potatoes, I covered with foil and placed it in the oven for about and hour and a half. The "broth" in this dish was so flavorful and the meat was extremely tender. Hubby was thrilled. Thanks so much!!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Jan 2005
Reviewed by: BUNKYDARL
I have been making a recipe that is very close to this for years. However instead of apple juice, I use 3/4 CUP OF APPLE SAUCE and a few tablespoons of BROWN SUGAR! It really gives it nice flavor and my pork chops have always come out moist. Enjoy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Jan 2005
Reviewed by: CHMOORE
I too have been making a version of this for years - from mom's recipe. She always included a peeled, cored and diced red delicious apple. It's purpose is to reduce the acidity of the sauerkraut - it's supposed to turn to mush and be not noticeable when done. Her version uses pork ribs, which I've started browning first to make the color of the finished dish a lovely brown. I've also started using the caraway seeds for a subtle flavor improvement. I use the fresher 'bagged' sauerkraut found in the refrigerated food section instead of the variety in the jar, and include the juice with the sauerkraut. The apple really works! We serve it over mashed potatoes. It's one of our favorite comfort foods!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 May 2008
Reviewed by: Cookies
It's very good! I didn't drain the liquid from the sauerkraut, plus I added more apple juice (1/4C). In a skillet I browned the pork chops on both sides and sauted the kraut too, and then for a really tender, juicy meat I baked mine at 350' (covered) for an hour. I have also tried this recipe with 1/4 cup of beer(instead of apple juice) and a 1/2 small apple, peeled, cored and sliced ,it's really good this way as well. THX.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: LLDOVEY
Grandma made pork and sauerkraut every New Year. She'd have loved this recipe. When I served it New Year's Day, my husband said, "You sure don't have to wait a year to make this again." It was great. Note: If you use kraut with little or no juice -- you may want to add a little water or increase the apple juice.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Nov 2003
Reviewed by: Sneakyteaky
The chops were very tender and tasty however, I would suggest using applesauce instead of the sliced apples, they went to mush. Use quartered apples adding them later in the cooking process. This recipe benefits from the apple flavour and the appearance of the apples.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Nov 2008
Reviewed by: ~TAYLOR~
Delicious! I wasn't going to add the caraway seed but I'm glad I did because that really makes the dish. After sauteeing everything, I covered and cooked in the oven. Put sliced potatoes on the bottom, pork chops in the middle and then sauerkraut on top.I added a bit of chicken broth to the mix as well. Absolutely awesome recipe, PETEITC. Thank you!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: jdcam
Very good. Not too difficult. Changed the order of cooking. Cooked bacon in pan first. Remove to paper towel. Brown chops in bacon fat. Place in a 9x13. Saute onion and garlic a few minutes until soft. Add applesauce, brown sugar, and sauerkraut to pan, bring to boil. Scrape up all the brown bits. Crumble bacon on top of chops and pour rest of ingredients on top, cover with foil, and bake in preheated 350 degree oven for 40 minutes.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Oct 2007
Reviewed by: capabayan
This was my first time trying sauerkraut, and I thoroughly enjoyed it! I actually used applesauce instead of juice, and I put it all in my slow-cooker for about 5 hours on high. It came out deliciously tender and moist, and my husband and I both want to have it again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes