My Reviews (70)

Gazpacho Themed Pasta Salad

This pasta salad is different! It is based on tomato like Spanish gazpacho soup but has a lime dressing and kick from green chilli.
Reviews (70)


Comment:
29 Sep 2008
EQUISHARE said:
Made it vegetarian. This was fantastic. I substituted a jar of salsa for the tomatoes, tomato juice, jalapeno and capsicum.
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
KLPARR said:
Something else. I was looking for a change from the usual mayo based salads and decided on this since we love Gazpacho soup. From past experience I cut the amount of jalapeno which we believe to be a wise decision. I also used V8 juice and that gave it more of a taste. I used more juice than called for as experience has taught pasta absorbs liquid and with the amount given it was going to really soak in. Finally I added a touch more salt as that balances the lime a bit better, and added fresh chopped basil, flat leaf parsley and coriander. This passed the 'husband review' with flying colours!
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: Mrs. Chef Esh
This recipe was outstanding. I loved the chilli in it--gave it a just-right kick!
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: Barbi
A great summer salad! Everyone raved about it. Takes a bit of time to chop everything, but it's worth it!
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: NARCISSAHARVEY
I recommend adding more seasoning.
 
15 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: Charlene1234
EXCELLENT! I made a couple changes like others suggested. I doubled this recipe for a small group and had lots left over but my sister wanted a bunch of it for lunch. Instead of fresh tomatoes (not in season now), I used a can of Rotelle - "Milder" and a 16 oz jar of mild salsa, then I left out the tomato juice, jalepeno and bell pepper (my bro-in-law is allergic). I might add more lime juice next time since it added such a good flavor but could have been a little stronger in my opinion - I LOVE citrus flavor. I loved the cucumber in this. I seeded it first and that might not have been necessary. But it cuts the spiciness wonderfully. LOTS of compliments and requests for this recipe. Storing this one in my recipe box! Thanks! Oh, I also used 1/2 red onion diced finely instead of green onion. A tad sweeter in my opinion. I made this again for 4th of July and made a couple changes. I used a jar of salsa and one tomato. Used the green onions this time since I had them and they were GREAT. Also used 1/2 bunch of cilantro since that flavor is so good. It's MUCH better the second day so make ahead. I can't imagine anyone saying this is bland. The salsa might be the key. The best pasta salad I've ever made or eaten!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Jul 2002
Reviewed by: Carey Cox
This was fantastic. I substituted a jar of salsa for the tomatoes, tomato juice, jalapeno and bell pepper.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Jul 2006
Reviewed by: MARRI U
I was looking for a change from the usual mayo based salads and decided on this since we love Gazpacho soup. From past experience I cut the amount of jalapeno which we believe to be a wise decision. I also used V8 juice (or a good Bloody Mary mix would work) and that gave it more of a taste. I used more juice than called for as experience has taught pasta absorbs liquid and with the amount given it was going to really soak in. Finally I added a touch more salt as that balances the lime a bit better, and added fresh chopped basil, flat leaf parsley, and cilantro. This passed the 'husband review' with flying colours!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Oct 2002
Reviewed by: PRISCILLAP
This recipe was outstanding. I loved the jalapeno pepper in it--gave it a just-right kick!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Aug 2007
Reviewed by: MELVA02
This is one of my favorite recipes and I make it exactly like the recipe says. I do toss the pasta with oil right after I drain it, which might help reduce the absorption of the dressing. It's important to use canned tomato juice (such as Campbell's) because it's thicker. When I use the leftover liquid/juice from a can of tomatoes, the dressing isn't good. One time I was eating this for lunch and my friend said it smelled "so good."
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes