My Reviews (15)

Tomato Pesto Penne

Garlic is simmered in stock until soft then processed with fresh basil, Parmesan cheese and pine nuts to make a low fat pesto that's tossed with penne and tomatoes.
Reviews (15)


29 Nov 2012
Reviewed by: jarrod
omg this recipe is amazing and so much healthier then your conventional pesto. The extra 5 minutes you spend simmering the garlic in the stock is worth the flavour at the end. I cant say i tinkered with the recipe too much apart from using tasty cheese instead of Romano or Parmesan (simply because i had none) but it tastes top notch.
 
05 Jun 2002
Reviewed by: Laurel
I didn't make the past dish, but I did make the pesto from this recipe. It was quite good! I've been looking for a lower-fat pesto and this recipe definitely fits the bill. I found that I didn't need quite as much broth as was called for and I did end up adding about 1/2 T. olive oil to make it a bit creamier. Also, use a low-sodium broth. For those who love the taste of pesto, but want to avoid some of the fat--this recipe is the way to go!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Jun 2007
Reviewed by: TheLaughingSun
Went pretty fast I used about half of the vegetable stock and added some olive oil. Also, instead of using whole tomatoes I tossed the pasta with sliced sun-dried tomoatoes and small cubes of chicken sauteed with a hint of crushed red pepper. I tried to save some leftovers, but they were swiped before I could get the container into the fridge
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Aug 2006
Reviewed by: Alexa
Use less vegetable stock that reccomended, I found that my pesto was too soup-y.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Jul 2006
Reviewed by: Cory P
Not the best pesto in the world, but still quite good. It's amazing that it's that good with so little fat! This is now my new default pesto recipe, and I'll use the pesto in everything in the future. I only used half the vegetable broth, though.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Sep 2003
Reviewed by: SweetBasil
Wonderful first try with pesto. I used another sauce recipe from this site, but did substitute vegetable stock for half of the oil. I also used walnuts, as that recipe suggested. I enjoyed this very much, my hubby was not too sure. Thank you Laura!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Jul 2015
Reviewed by: Angelvirus
I didn't like the taste but my husband loved it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Aug 2012
Reviewed by: AshleyE
We didnt really like this dish all that much. Very pretty dish but I think its one of those you have to have a taste for. Plus I should have known with my little ones it would fail, because of it being so different. Thanks for the recipe though
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: taadrews
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
Comment:
16 Dec 2010
taadrews said:
Used different ingredients. A delicious recipe! used chicken stock instead of veggie and cashews instead of pine nuts. Served with pasta and tuna. My 11 yr daughter loved it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes