My Reviews (453)

Coronation Chicken with Fruit and Nuts

This classic British concoction is a great sandwich filler as well as salad. Even better if prepared a day ahead.
Reviews (453)


Comment:
08 Oct 2008
Debby said:
Used different ingredients. EXCELLENT!!!! When my daughter, mother and I tasted this our eyes rolled back into our heads-in a good way! It was light and refreshing. I didn't have apples so I just left them out. I substituted walnuts for the pecans and used red grapes instead of green. What a treat to have found this recipe. Thank you so much.
 
Comment:
08 Oct 2008
MASSIVEMO1 said:
Used different ingredients. Delicious! I cheated and used the food processor to do most of my slicing (even the grapes) making this a cinch to prepare. I added about one tablespoon of honey which gave it a tasty sweetness. I'll make this dish again!
 
Comment:
08 Oct 2008
Used different ingredients. OHHHHHH *so* delicious! I substituted toasted almonds for the pecans. FANTASTIC!!
 
08 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: Katie P.
This is an excellent recipe..I do not use the onions, and I mix some sour cream with the mayonnaise for a lighter dressing, and also add honey.. I also use more curry powder..The customers love it!!! (yes, I work in a restraunt.) It is served on a lettuce leaf, or in a croissant or roll...this is a 10 plus
 
08 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: HAIRCRAZY6979
Absolutely the best! I've already made it twice in one week, the second time I doubled the recipe so there would be more! :-)
 
22 May 2007
Reviewed by: Reneered
This is a variation of a standard popular recipe, and while still good, it can use some tweaking. To thin the mayonnaise, combine with a portion of sour cream or yogurt and maybe even a little lemon juice. Golden raisins and green grapes are a redundancy. Use dark raisins or dried cranberries, or red grapes for color and contrast, and I would prefer red onion or scallions. Remember to add salt to taste. Enjoy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Jun 2007
Reviewed by: UnicDreams
This is almost the same recipe as the "Fruity Curry Chicken Salad" except this one uses real mayo instead of light mayo and onion instead of green onion. I prefer the light mayo because it is healthier and the green onion because it is more colorful. Otherwise THEY TASTE THE SAME! ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS! I've substituted with one or more of the following without any detriment to the taste: leftover turkey, leftover rotisserie chicken, canned chicken, red grapes, green onions, dried cranberries, and roasted chopped walnuts.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Jul 2005
Reviewed by: Julie Beth
This recipe was fabulous! So easy to prepare and delicious. I made it a little healthier by substituting plain nonfat yogurt for the mayonnaise. I love curry, so I added an extra dash or two to the mixture, and I added curry to the chicken while it was cooking. I omitted the onion and celery because I don't always care for those two ingredients. I made this recipe on Sunday night and ate it for lunch during the week - it just got better every day as the curry was absorbed by the yogurt. Thank you Karen for sharing!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Aug 2003
Reviewed by: BUTTERFLIBLUES
This is an excellent recipe..I do not use the onions, and I mix some sour cream with the mayo for a lighter dressing, and also add honey..We serve little side cups of shredded sweetened coconut .I also use more curry powder..The customers love it!!!(yes, I work in a restraunt.) It is served on a lettuce leaf, or in a croissant, or even in mini Father Sams Pocket Bread.....this is a 10 plus , if you like curry.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Apr 2011
Reviewed by: Jillian
Easy and delicious - plus it's a great way to use up leftover grilled chicken! I didn't have pecans so I subbed toasted walnuts instead. I used a Granny Smith Apple and red seedless grapes vs. green. I also used dried cranberries vs. raisins. I mixed the dressing in a separate bowl before folding it into the chicken and other ingredients. For the dressing I used 1/2 cup of Hellman's light mayo cut with 1/4 cup of reduced fat sour cream along with the curry and a bit of salt and pepper. It chilled for just a couple of hours and it came out really good. Overall, a great combination of flavors! Especially good on whole grain bread!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes