My Reviews (165)

Oat and Strawberry Muffins

Sweet strawberries make these muffins special. Nice for a special breakfast or a morning tea and healthier than most.
Reviews (165)


Comment:
29 Sep 2008
TORTOISE33 said:
Altered ingredient amounts. These muffins are fabulously moist and delicious! I decided to make these muffins because of the rolled oats. My 5yo son has borderline high cholesterol and oatmeal can help reduce it naturally and he will not eat just oatmeal. Firstly, I doubled the recipe because I have 5 children and 12 muffins wouldn't have lasted for more than 5 minutes in our house. I took some suggestions from the other reviewers and changed the recipe in the following ways: I substituted whole wheat flour for 1/2 the amount of regular flour; I used one mashed banana for 1/2 of the amount of oil; I added cinnamon along with the soda, powder and salt. If I had egg substitute on hand, I would have used that instead of regular eggs. I also used fresh cut strawberries. These muffins are delicious and so much more healthy than the standard fare...great source of fibre! Thanks for submitting such a different recipe for strawberries!
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
SCHMOOCAT said:
Altered ingredient amounts. This muffin was pretty good! It wasn't the best but almost. I really didn't do anything different. I only added a few more strawberry's and some nutmeg. Also, I added a tbs. of cornflour to help them rise better. I cut the recipe in half and they worked great!
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
SHANNON2E said:
Used different ingredients. The strawberries made them a little mushy, but I didn't mind. I didn't have buttermilk so I used regular milk with some lemon juice in it. I also added 1 tsp of cinnamon and used whole wheat pastry flour. They turned out just fine.
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
SEE NU said:
Made it healthier. These were tasty - I definitely recommend them! I did make a bunch of recipe modifications based on previous reviews and my daughter's egg allergy, which is why I gave the original recipe four stars instead of five. I used 2% milk soured with vinegar instead of buttermilk, substituted 1/3 cup whole wheat flour for the white flour, replaced the egg with a mix of 1 Tbsp flax meal and 3 Tbsp hot water, plus added 1 Tbsp cornflour, 1/2 tsp cinnamon, and a handful of raisins. I baked them for 17 minutes. These were light yet moist and fluffy in the middle - not gummy at all - and the strawberries were tasty! These are definitely going into my regular rotation. Thanks for giving me a good recipe to work with!
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: JOANNAMULHALL
With the exception of adding 1/4 tsp. of cinnamon just as a taste preference, I guess I'm one of the few who made this recipe as written--no substitutions, no modifications. (cornflour in a muffin batter?) Even after mixing them up, baking them and, finally, eating them, I can confidently tell you these are a perfect strawberry oatmeal muffin, and the recipe needs no tinkering or tweaking to make them so. Tender crumb, just the right amount of sweetness for a muffin, beautiful light brown colour, and bursting with plump little chunks of red strawberries. These are perfectly rounded, moist and delicious with a pleasant and delicate pairing of the oatmeal and strawberry flavours. Thanks for sharing the recipe for these Wendy!
 
25 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: naples34102
With the exception of adding 1/4 tsp. of cinnamon just as a taste preference, I guess I'm one of the few who made this recipe as written--no substitutions, no modifications. (Cornstarch in a muffin batter?) Even after mixing them up, baking them and, finally, eating them, I can confidently tell you these are a perfect strawberry oatmeal muffin, and the recipe needs no tinkering or tweaking to make them so. Tender crumb, just the right amount of sweetness for a muffin, beautiful light brown color, and bursting with plump little chunks of red strawberries. These are perfectly rounded, moist and delicious with a pleasant and delicate pairing of the oatmeal and strawberry flavors. Thanks for sharing the recipe for these Wendy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 May 2004
Reviewed by: TiredMomtoSIX
These muffins are fabulously moist and delicious! I decided to make these muffins because of the rolled oats. My 5yo son has borderline high cholesterol and oatmeal can help reduce it naturally and he will not eat just oatmeal. Firstly, I doubled the recipe because I have 5 children and 12 muffins wouldn't have lasted for more than 5 minutes in our house. I took some suggestions from the other reviewers and changed the recipe in the following ways: I substituted whole wheat flour for 1/2 the amount of regular flour; I used one mashed banana for 1/2 of the amount of oil; I added cinnamon along with the soda, powder and salt. If I had egg substitute on hand, I would have used that instead of regular eggs. I also used fresh cut strawberries. These muffins are delicious and so much more healthy than the standard fare...great source of fiber! Thanks for submitting such a different recipe for strawberries!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Jun 2007
Reviewed by: GreenGoddess
Yumm! As others suggested I made a few changes: juice of 1/2 a lemon and 2%; cut the oil in half and used a 1/4 cup cinnamon applesauce (great flavor!), zest of my 1/2 lemon, 1/4 tsp. ground nutmeg, a generously rounded tsp. cornstarch, and about 2 Tbsp of flax seeds for a healthy kick. I used a bunt pan instead of muffin tins and it was ready in about 17 minutes. I want to try it with whole wheat flour. But it was gorgeous when it came out of the oven, a good gooey center, not too mushy but I might add a little more cornstarch next time to combat my juicy berries. I will defiantly make this again, perhaps with cranberries and orange zest! Okay I just had to come back to change my rating, I did the recipe again same as above except this time with a Tbs of corn starch, FANTASTIC!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Apr 2012
Reviewed by: Sarah Jo
I made this recipe with my oldest son. We used lactose-free milk that we "soured" with lemon juice. I taught him to mix the buttermilk with the oats and let it "sit" for 15-20 minutes before adding the rest of the wet ingredients. We did substitute one mashed banana for the oil and we cut the sugar back to a half cup. We made no other changes. I did make a judgement call and asked him to let the batter sit just a little longer, maybe ten minutes because it was quite wet even though the oats had soaked up a lot of the buttermilk previously. My son and I kept leaning over the bowl to smell the batter because it smelled wonderful. We baked the muffins at 350* for 20 minutes. They turned out very nicely--chewy, dense muffins with the perfect amount of strawberries. I'm really glad we substituted the banana in place of the oil, it was a nice combination with the strawberries. NOTE: For all those wanting to make this recipe, watch your batter. You might have to let it sit a while to get the oats to soak up some of the liquid, too.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: E.J. FRANK
This was definitely a keeper - but I DID make some changes: As suggested by others, I added some corn starch. I then doubled the baking soda. I used a white/whole wheat blend (altho next time I may go all whole wheat. I used vanilla soy milk with a tbls. of cider vinegar instead of buttermilk, which I seldom have on hand. Because of that, I did not add vanilla. I did, however, add a lot (how much?) cinnamon and nutmeg. Also added coarsely chopped pecans and tried go-go berries instead of raisins or craisins. Finally, I added an equal amt of maple syrup instead of sugar. These came out a tad too sweet for me, but hubby loved them. I used just-bought fresh strawberries and they were not at all mushy. The consistency was perfect, the tops were rounded. Next time I will use whole grain flour, apple sauce or bananas instead of oil, and I will mix/match nuts & dried fruit. But definitely a keeper. Thank you!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes