My Reviews (137)

Fresh Jalapeno Salsa

Fresh ripe tomatoes, chillies, onion, garlic and coriander make a delightfully refreshing salsa. Adjust the heat level by experimenting with the amount and type of chillies you use.
Reviews (137)


08 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: pilkster
This was simple & tasted great. Thanks
 
17 Jul 2006
Reviewed by: IMVINTAGE
As written I would have to give this a four but I added some stuff that I thought brought it up to 5*s. I used 7 roma tomatos (pureed 2 of them), used a whole vidila onion, added 1 c. of corn & 1 c. of black beans (drained & rinsed), I didn't seed the jalapeno & I also added one habanero (I did seed it). At the end, hubby & I argued as to whether it needed a bit of sugar or vinegar, I won the arguement & we added 1 tbp. plus 1 tsp. of white wine vinegar... this really helped bind the flavors together & strangely enough, seemed to add the bit of sweetness my hubby thought it needed. I think we may have just made the best salsa ever!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: LAURA LEE
This is quick, easy and delicious! Hint though. After chopping the tomatoes, I drain them in a collander for a while to eliminate some of the excess liquid.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Aug 2003
Reviewed by: SEPOGIRL
This is the same recipe I have been making for ages. Everyone loves it, and there is never enough, no matter how much I make. The great thing about it is that you can simply adjust the amounts of the different ingredients to make it the way you like. I like it spicy, so I throw the seeds in with the peppers. Also, red onion works really well in this.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Oct 2002
Reviewed by: ISSIS
This is a good basic salsa...now if you really want to make it a California salsa you need to add at least one avocado and do not use so much garlic, unless you are looking for a Gilroy taste. Gilroy, California is known for its garlic every-thing...garlic perfume, garlic ice cream etc. Lets just stick to our basic salsa. Buen provecho !!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Aug 2003
Reviewed by: Juliana
OUTSTANDING recipe. I let it sit over night so let the ingredients meld together and man oh man was this salsa wonderful. I will make it again and again. Thank you Cecilia D for sharing such a greatrecipe with us.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Aug 2006
Reviewed by: Renee
This Salsa turned out GREAT!! I did add a fresh green bell pepper from our garden and used 6 tomatoes. I only used a 1/4 cup of cilantro, to make it to my familiys' taste. Thanks for the recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Dec 2001
Reviewed by: JOANNE MILLER
Too much cilantro....if I try it again, I will definitely cut back!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Oct 2001
Reviewed by: LMSTERR
ICK! Too much cilantro and too much garlic. I ended up throwing it away. Basic idea is good, just reduce cilantro and garlic so it isn't so strong.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 May 2002
Reviewed by: ZEHR
This salsa was nothing special. It needed to be zipped up alot. I added another jalepeno, alot of fresh ground pepper and salt, some fresh lemon and lime juice and it still came out just OK.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes