My Reviews (170)

Vegetable and Mushroom Soup

With this soup you can either puree it after it has simmered or serve it as is. If you puree is, add some cooked rice near the end of the cooking process.
Reviews (170)


Comment:
29 Sep 2008
Used different ingredients. ohmygod...what a great soup. The few changes I made were cabbage instead of leeks( I didn't have any) added a tad of garlic, white button and portabello mushrooms, 2 can's veggie stock and a can of beef gravy instead of the chicken stock. The rest was the same. Other's like it pured, but I prefered it chunky. I will Definately make it again and again.
 
26 Oct 2012
Reviewed by: charlenenz
Excellent meal! Lots of yummy fresh ingredients, simple and fun to make (as a family we did the prep work together). Tasted amazing!
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
Used different ingredients. One of the best mushroom soups I've ever tried! Because garlic is good in almost everything I added three cloves of freshly chopped garlic when I sauteed the veggies; and because I was too lazy to make rice I added a handful of dry orzo to cook up as the soup simmered. I used my immersion blender to slighly puree a small amount of the soup which gave an illusion of creaminess; but still left it very chunky.
 
05 Jul 2017
Reviewed by: danute53
I'm following Optifast Intensive stage so I adjusted this recipe slightly. I made half the amount with tsp olive oil instead of butter, a button squash instead of leek (all I had) and dried thyme instead of fresh. I also only used 500ml low salt chicken stock because I wanted to use a small carton. I used one large flat Swizz brown mushroom and 4 good sized button mushrooms. This is going to be made often.
 
29 Jun 2013
Reviewed by: Judyrob
Absolutely loved this. I didn't have a kg of mushrooms, probably about 500g and added a little pumpkin but the initial recipe is just fabulous. So very tasty and did put a little soup pasta in it
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
Laura said:
Used different ingredients. My modifications included using margarine to reduce the fat and added a ton of garlic. The soup turned out fabulous and tasted similar to a French onion soup, but mushroom soup.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: Chef Adriana
This soup is very tasty. I use a vegetable stock. It is the perfect vegetarian soup. I tried it pureed and not. I can't decide which I like better. Last time I made it, I pureed about half then mixed it with the other. Yummy!
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: Amy C.
This is really delicious soup...very simple ingredients but a lot of good flavour. I grated some parmesan-reggiano cheese on top...so good!
 
27 Apr 2005
Reviewed by: STLVICKI
One of the best mushroom soups I've ever tried! Because garlic is good in almost everything I added three cloves of freshly chopped garlic when I sauteed the veggies; and because I was too lazy to make rice I added a handful of dry orzo to cook up as the soup simmered. I used my immersion blender to slighly puree a small amount of the soup which gave an illusion of creaminess; but still left it very chunky.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: Keithm87
A wonderful mushroom soup recipe full of flavor without the fat! Truly an excellent base that can be changed up tons of different ways to suit your personal preferences. I omitted the carrots and leeks, used about 3 pounds mushrooms (white/crimini/shitake), added garlic to the onion/celery mixture, a couple of sprinkles of beef boullion granules, and a few dashes hot sauce. Thanks for a wonderful recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes