My Reviews (61)

Scallops with Pineapple Salsa

A salsa of fresh pineapple, cucumber and mango is the perfect compliment to seared scallops. Always make sure scallops are fresh and be careful not to overcook them.
Reviews (61)


05 May 2009
Reviewed by: KitanaMichelle
I cooked this the other night as an entree and it was a great success. The salsa is so refreshing, and doesn't spoil the main. I would recommend serving the salsa warm as it cools down the scallops too quickly. A great dish that I will definately serve again at a dinner party or for a light meal.
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
RHONDA G said:
Used different ingredients. Absolutely delicious. We served this with rice. I added mandarins, lemon juice, tinned pineapple and a bit of the juice from the pineapples to make the salsa. I also used a green capsicum and thinly sliced spring onions in the salsa. Thanks for the recipe.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: CookinMama
This recipe looks very inviting & tastes great. I only had 2 issues with it. The first: the coriander seemed to overpower the salsa. Keep in mind that I am not a coriander fan but I still think that the chillies would have been sufficient. The second, sea scallops tend to be pretty thick & the cooking method overcooked the outside while not cooking the inside well enough for me. Next time, I will skip the coriander alltogether & bake the scallops for a few minutes before pan frying the outside. All in all, a good recipe.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: cutediva
Family wasn't too sure about this dish when they first saw it but thoroughly enjoyed it. I served it with rice and doubled the amount of salsa and it was all eaten. Will make it again.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: Lana
The salsa was really good. The scallops needed to be cooked longer than 2 minutes on each side, but I used an indoor barbecue set at about 200 degrees. It was more like 6-8 minutes on each side. The scallops were large ones. I thought they tasted kinda bland ...could have used a little more seasoning for my taste.
 
20 Nov 2002
Reviewed by: MAXINE76
This recipe looks very inviting & tastes great. I only had 2 issues with it. The first: the cilantro seemed to overpower the salsa. Keep in mind that I am not a cilantro fan but I still think that the hot peppers would have been sufficient. The second, sea scallops tend to be pretty thick & the cooking method overcooked the outside while not cooking the inside well enough for me. Next time, I will skip the cilantro alltogether & bake the scallops for a few minutes before pan frying the outside. All in all, a good recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Aug 2006
Reviewed by: IMVINTAGE
I used the little bay scallops because I was topping a salad w/ this recipe. I made the salsa as the recipe states, except for adding just a tbp or so of mango vinegar ( a recipe from foodnetwork) but I made a few changes w/ the scallops. I used olive oil w/ just a bit of butter to saute them in but first I added big slivers of garlic & let them cook for a few minutes to infuse the oil. Then I removed the garlic & added the bay scallops. I hit the scallops w/ Old Bay & chopped basil while cooking & then sprinkled them w/ lemon juice after I removed them from the pan. I plated a bed of romaine, drizzled it w/ the mango vinegar, added quite a bit of the salsa & topped it w/ the scallops, adding a few sliced cukes for interest. Hubby was very skeptical of this salad but had to concede that the flavor combo was superb. *rubbing my fingers on my chest in an arrogant fashion* LOL But next time he wants me to add a bit of mayo to the mango vinegar to make it more of a substantial dressing....I will for his, I thought mine was just perfect! Served this w/ a glass of white zin & for dessert, cherry limeade sorbet, drizzled w/ homemade cherry vodka & topped w/ a couple of frosted grapes. What a wonderful, light & healthy meal for a hot, summer evening...thansk for your contribution Robin!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Aug 2005
Reviewed by: MILKLISSA79
Absolutely delicious. We served this with rice. I added mandarin oranges, lemon juice, canned pineapple and a bit of the juice from the pineapples to make the salsa. I also used a green pepper and thinly sliced green onions in the salsa. Thanks for the recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Aug 2004
Reviewed by: islandgirlejfan
Wow...this was an AMAZING dish! The only thing that I would maybe do a little different would be to add a little less cilantro. (I personally don't care for the taste of it) Other than that, the salsa truly was very impressive looking and tasted really great on the scallops. Very cool if you are looking for a recipe for a dinner party or a romantic dinner for two! Definitely a keeper!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Dec 2009
Reviewed by: naples34102
Hubs and I frequent a lot of restaurants in Southwest Florida where dishes like this are routinely served. This is as good or better as we've had in any of them. I dredged the scallops lightly in flour before sauteeing them and backed off on the cilantro to about one tablespoon, which was plenty. I served this on plates garnished with a spicy remoulade sauce and a lemon garlic aioli alongside a basic, parsley rice. It was simply wonderful. Colorful, fresh and delicious. I'm looking forward to having the leftover salsa with crab cakes tomorrow night!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes