My Reviews (248)

Classic Moules Mariniere

Fresh mussels are simmered in butter and white wine with plum tomatoes. The are seasoned with freshly crushed garlic, diced spring onions and chopped parsley.
Reviews (248)


Comment:
29 Sep 2008
TEXEL said:
Used different ingredients. Very good recipe. I followed the directions on my first dish, but with the 2nd I had to make several revisions. I doubled the sauce, I added more chopped garlic, cooked it in my favourite chardonnay, (use your favourite white wine) and cooked it to a reduction, (about 15 mins on high) I put in the chopped tomatos and cooked it for 4-5 mins before adding in the mussels and covering the pot with a lid, 5 mins into the mussels cooking I threw in the green onions and parsley, stirred it around and covered it for an additional 5 mins before it was done. I found that if you added the green onions, parsley and tomato too soon like the recipe calls for, you lose the flavour of all. In adding the veggies close to serving it keeps all of the natural flavours in. Great recipe.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: Cara
Simple, delicious, and addictive! Herbs de Provence are a great addition. Better double the recipe, because your guests will be chowing down!!
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
3GIRLMOM said:
Used different ingredients. I loved this recipe with clams! Also, I added a little Herbes de Provence. Definite crowd pleaser, and so easy!
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: trooworld
Awesome recipe! I had never prepared mussels before and these were really simple. I was hoping to duplicate a mussels recipe that a local restaurant makes and this one was REALLY close. I just felt the sauce was lacking a flavour... next time I will double the garlic and add some chicken stock to the wine, maybe add some more tomato. This will be made often and tweaked to my personal tastes. Thank you!
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: DELTAQUEEN50
Of all the mussels recipes, I trusted this one and was not steered wrong! It was amazing, I did substitute one can of diced tomatoes for the 3 plum tomatoes and it was delicious, lots of compliments from my guests! Thanks!
 
15 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: Tippy
Very good recipe. I followed the directions on my first dish, but with the 2nd I had to make several revisions. I doubled the sauce, I added more chopped garlic, cooked it in my favorite chardonnay, (use your favorite white wine) and cooked it to a reduction, (about 15 mins on high) I put in the chopped tomatos and cooked it for 4-5 mins before adding in the mussels and covering the pot with a lid, 5 mins into the mussels cooking I threw in the green onions and parsley, stirred it around and covered it for an additional 5 mins before it was done. I found that if you added the green onions, parsley and tomato too soon like the recipe calls for, you lose the flavor of all. In adding the veggies close to serving it keeps all of the natural flavors in. Great recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: RumoreHigh
Best mussels we ever had! This was the first time I made mussels and was a little nervous. They ended up dazzling us and we both agreed they were better than any restaurant's. So, I had to do a little research, but here's what I learned (after I had to throw away about 25% of the mussels I bought). As a rookie, I didn't realize you have to 'air' out the mussels- as in, keep them cold but make sure they get air. I looked up how to debeard them (you can find it on this site). As for the recipe itself, sooooo good! I would add a few extra tomatoes and don't skip the 'salt to taste' step (I forgot and it was better with a little bit of salt). Serve with the crustiest bread you can find and drink the wine as you cook :-)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Feb 2006
Reviewed by: WISEREADER
Absolutely delicious! I doubled the sauce and served over linguini, and I highly recommend serving it this way. I also add a little more garlic than is called for.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Feb 2009
Reviewed by: Tina C.
Very good- I doubled the ingredients for the sauce and used about 35 mussels. Also, I replaced the chopped roma tomatoes with a can of fire roasted diced tomotoes to add another layer of depth to the flavor. Just a hint to those new at handling mussels- there is a very good chance that if you purchase "farmed" mussels, which are sold in most grocery stores, that they ill have already been debearded. I spent a panicked hour researching this on the net because I could not find the beards to remove.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Jul 2007
Reviewed by: LDUPUY
Of all the mussels recipes, I trusted this one and was not steered wrong! It was amazing, I did substitute one can of diced tomatoes for the 3 plum tomatoes and it was delicious, lots of compliments from my guests! Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes