My Reviews (34)

Cassava and Coconut Custard

This easy Filipino dessert is very quick and easy to make, cassava is grated then combined with egg, tinned milk and coconut milk before being baked.
Reviews (34)


09 Sep 2011
Reviewed by: ajaderecio
For all the first time makers, let me tell you... the more cassava added, the thicker the cake. The less, it will be more softer and fluffy more custard like. 4 cups make a thick cake. 2 cups will make it really fluffy. When grating fresh cassava, one pound will yield about 1.5 cups and the grated product will have a mushy consistency. I added 1/2 cup of dried sweetened coconut flakes. It is better to add jarred macapuno strings, or fresh coconut. It is also better to reserve a couple tablespoons of condensed milk and coconut milk to add as a topping at the last 15 minutes of baking. Thanks so much for the formula my friend. Very delish.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: martyward
You have the ingredients wrong. You say 2 cups of cassava, but for that much liquid you need 4 cups.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: SusanC
I use frozen grated cassava too, which can be found in many Asian stores.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: nikita
This is my first time making cassava. I used two 14oz. packages of frozen grated cassava, thawed and drained, it looked about 4 cups. Baking time was about 1 hr 15 min. The top was already browned, so I didnt bother broiling it. We love it! Thanks for a great, simple recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: frenchie
where can you find yucca? we use Cassava or Farine in Bermuda, now I live in Canada can't find it...help.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: kfredericksen
Yucca and cassava are the same. Goya makes a very nice frozen cassava product. Found it at Wegman's food stores, not sure if you have them near you or not. You can probably contact your store manager and request that they order some from Goya for you! I used theirs for a very good cassava pie just a couple of months ago.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: little rock
I love this recipe, simple and easy. Only think I want to add next time will be sugar. Also, I add 1 tsp of vanilla and I used dried unsweetened coconut, taste good. But everything turn great. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Feb 2013
Reviewed by: kc
I am always tempted to buy the bakery items at the Asian grocery store, but are too afraid to eat them for sanitary reasons. Don't know how old they are and how long they have been sitting at room temperature at the store. Also, all the food color we don't need to consume. This recipe allows me to enjoy Asian desert made simply at home. It stays soft and chewy warm or cold. I was able to get a bag (2lb./32oz) of frozen yucca at a local Indian grocery store. I thawed, rinsed and drained the yucca in a colander. In a blender, I placed the yucca, 12 oz of water instead of evaporated milk, coconut milk and process until smooth. If you do not have a large blender (Vitamix), you may need to do two batches. In a large bowl, whisk together the egg and condensed milk. I also added 1/4 cup of sugar and 1/2 cup of unsweetened coconut flakes. Pour the yucca mixture into the bowl and blend them together well. Coat a 3 quart casserole pan with non-stick spray. Bake for 1 hour and 10 mins. until the edge is golden. Will make this again, can't stop eating until my stomach is bloated.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Aug 2012
Reviewed by: Pakora
I always use fresh cassava (approx 3 lbs). I peel then grate it...I soak it in water then drain it and do it over again.. at the end I strain with with a cheesecloth and another cloth napkin and squeeze as much as I can..I am left with a nice white, dried paste. This cake taste best when it's fresh out of the over. I tried another recipe from a well-known/rated Vietnamese book and immediately came back to this one - why mess with perfection? Thanks for sharing!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 May 2012
Reviewed by: Carina Diaz M
I followed all measurements plus I added 3T of agave nectar for my sweet tooth. Delicious soft cassava cake--the way I like it. Simple to make the very first time I tried.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes