My Reviews (20)

Beef Roast Stew

This is a lovely beef stew that cooks a roast divided into 4 then just before serving the beef is sliced and returned to the sauce that contains capsicum, tomatoes, potatoes and olives.
Reviews (20)


03 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: steve2464
good dish! nice twist on a stew with the olives! used top sirloin instead of the chuck and it came out very nice with the leanness of the meat!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: McCrearyacres
My kids were EXTREMELY reluctant to try this as they helped me pull all of the ingredients together--they kept telling me they didn't think it would turn out well. I also had my doubts (olives, potatoes, and ketchup?!) BUT the eating of the meal was another situation all together! This is delicious! My only 2 suggestions would be to #1 cube the meat before browning because having to cut the meat in the bowl was a bit awkward and #2 give the meat the time to cook that the peppers are--I didn't see any need for leaving the meat out as they cooked and am glad I didn't.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: buckroadeats
We will definitely make this again. We made it with a pork roast and added a couple of jalapenos, and ginger to suit our own tastes. Everyone loved it. I have now made this several times...it is easily my favorite recipe EVER! It's so easy to substitute to your own veggies and proteins. My brother made it with seafood once!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: The Ugly Cook
This is a good recipe. If you slice the beef thin and leave out the olives, bell pepers and potatoes you can use this as a filling for gorditas.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: HOLLISKAT
Very tasty! I am half Filipino and mom lives too far away to eat at her house. This is great comfort food. Its basically a stew.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Dec 2012
Reviewed by: STARDUST_331
If you're wondering what this tastes like, it almost tastes like a soy sauce, but much richer. You don't taste the ketchup at all, it actually was less sweet than I thought this would be. This definitely takes a bit of work and a lot of time but it's soooooo good. The beef wasn't tender after 1 hour and 20 minutes - might try throwing this into the slow cooker next time (and add the veggies at the end). I threw the crushed peppercorns, crushed garlic into a bouquet garni bag which worked great - I don't like eating peppercorns and didn't want to have to fish it out later. I crushed the peppercorns in a Ziploc bag with the meat pounder). Next time I'll throw the bay leaves in there as well - it was annoying to have to fish them out later, especially since one had broken into several pieces during stirring while it was still dry. They're no fun to eat! I can't believe how much sauce this makes - I really wanted bread but decided to serve it over brown rice. Also, instead of using 2 pots, I switched the order, and browned the meat, then the onions/garlic all in the same pot (making sure not to burn them). This way all the goodness and flavor bits all stay together!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Apr 2010
Reviewed by: Shelly Van Kirk Moran
Excellent recipe. Made it because it used ingredients I had on hand, but I will be making this again and again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Aug 2012
Reviewed by: erinc
just wonderful! I added 1/2 cup wine, on suggestion from another reviewer. I also left the beef in when I put in the peppers. An amazing beef "stew" that would work with egg noodles or rice.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 May 2010
Reviewed by: John Garner
Excellent recipe. My wife is Filipino and we both loved this one.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Jul 2012
Reviewed by: MariaTheSoaper
My husband loved this recipe, he cooked the meat portion for me while I prepped the other ingredients. He added a 1/4c red wine to this .. such a great hearty stew!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes