My Reviews (137)

Cream Cheese Icing with Coconut

An amazing cream cheese icing - definitely for coconut lovers and perfect to jazz up a plain cake. For more coconut goodness, prinkle toasted coconut on top once you've iced it.
Reviews (137)


26 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: Jennifer
AMAZING RECIPE! Since I didn't have any coconut flavoring, I used some extra shredded coconut. Absolutely delicious! I use this on many cakes - carrot, white, yellow, coconut cake, coconut pound cake - everybody loves it! If you are looking for an all around good frosting that can be used on many cakes, this is the one! It is FABULOUS! You must try it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: Helen
Forget the store-bought frostings! This is so easy to make and soooo yummy! I didn't have any coconut extract, but I did use coconut cream instead of heavy cream. Absolutely wonderful. Thank you for sharing!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Nov 2007
Reviewed by: Kathryn
I was charged with making a birthday cake for my sister-in-law this year for her 23rd. I've always been desperate to win over my in-laws, and this DID IT! The frosting was phenomenal! My husband's many siblings loved it, so much so that when I turned around to let the dog out they dove into the bowl and ate all of the extra in 3 minutes. If you ever need to impress, this is the frosting to try.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Apr 2008
Reviewed by: FamilyChef
Incredibily good! I made this to go on my daughter's 12 year birthday cake and all of the girls at the party went nuts on the icing and even ate the leftovers! I didn't add the coconut or the coconut flavouring (since I made the mistake of asking the girls' opinion on coconut) and upped the vanilla extract to 1-1/2 tsp. and it was still fantastic. One thing, this makes enough frosting for two cakes and still have leftovers for cupcakes. If making 1 cake, half the recipe...there will be plenty for a layer and the exterior.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: chibi chef
Perfect taste but doesn't hold it's shape well enough to pipe onto cupcakes.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Aug 2007
Reviewed by: Milkshake Marilyn
When I started this recipe I thought I had coconut. I fallowed this recipe except for the flavoring and coconut I tested it with Blackwalnut and Almond extract both were good . I went with the Blackwalnut. I felt 6 instead of 60+ licked the bowl and beaters clean. My husbands favotite carrot cake was a huge success. FYI, don't rush out for coconut flavoring.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Jul 2007
Reviewed by: Reby
I tried this recipe before anyone else reviewed it, and I'm glad I took the risk! This frosting was absolutely delicious! The coconut flavor was not overwhelming, but it was definitely there. I used it to frost a guava-pineapple cake, and it didn't take away from the fruity flavors. I also tasted the frosting at every step of the recipe. Without the coconut or vanilla, it makes a great cream cheese base frosting, and with vanilla alone it's a very tasty vanilla frosting. The consistency is also great (I ended up adding about double the amount of cream) and it is just like store-bought frosting...but better! My family and neighbors loved it. I will definitely be using this recipe, or at least part of it, again! Thank you!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: Anna Marie
My husband and I really like this! I added about a teaspoon of rum in place of the coconut and vanilla extracts and added only enough milk (in place of the cream) to make it the desired consistency. I agree with others who feel it was not too sweet. Definitely a keeper and thank you so much!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Sep 2007
Reviewed by: SADDLESORE55
Amazing! I've made this a few different times for cakes, cupcakes and a carrot cake. It's delicious and is always a huge hit! I've done several variations on it as well with and without the coconut and it's always good. When I include the coconut I usually double or triple the amount of flaked coconut.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Dec 2011
Reviewed by: Linda
I don't understand all the high reviews, unless all these people like sickeningly sweet, runny frosting. I doubled the cream cheese and left out the cream. Then I put it in the fridge to see if it would thicken more. I think there should be more extract and less powdered sugar- it's overpowering.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes