My Reviews (126)

Fattoush Salad

A Middle Eastern salad comprised of pita bread, cos lettuce, spring onions, tomatoes, cucumber and a sumac and lemon dressing. Sumac is available from some supermarkets or Lebanese shops.
Reviews (126)


Comment:
29 Sep 2008
UNASCHU said:
Used different ingredients. I am half-Arab, and I must say that this recipe is as close as it gets to the authentic. I did make a few changes: I first sliced the pita into two faces, cut them into small squares (much nicer for presentation) threw them all in a tupperware container, added about 2 tablespoons olive oil and a good amount of salt, and shook it all up. I then spread the pieces onto a flat biscuit pan and baked in the oven for about 10 mins. You can literally eat them as chips when they're done! I always make more as we all like to load them onto our salads! I also run the dressing through a small blender when I'm done, because I prefer it smooth, expecially when I'm using fresh herbs. If you can, let the dressing sit in the fridge for an hour or two, so the flavours can blend well.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: PEARLNZ
if u make this a couple hours before a party, make sure to add the pita pieces immediately before serving!! or, i was thinking you could even serve it separately and guests can add pieces as they wish, and they're still cruncy! one thing, what is sumac powder?? couldnt find it anywhere....
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: Gigi
This salad was a big hit at a luncheon where I served it. Everyone went back for seconds and also requested the recipe. Very attractive. If you like ethnic/Mediterranean food, you'll love this!
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: LILMISSCOOK
This is my favourite recipe for fatoosh salad. Sumac has a sort of lemony taste to it -- very zesty. Everyone loves this salad and people always ask for the recipe after tasting it. I usually make it the day before (pita I make just before serving the salad). I also nuke the garlic for 8-10 seconds before adding. \
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: KQPENA
This recipe is great. It really does taste like it came from a restaurant. If you use the "greek style" pitas, they seem to hold up better and not get mushy.
 
09 Mar 2007
Reviewed by: Belle
I am half-Arab, and I must say that this recipe is as close as it gets to the authentic. I did make a few changes: I first sliced the pita into two faces, cut them into small squares (much nicer for presentation) threw them all in a tupperware container, added about 2 tablespoons olive oil and a good amount of salt, and shook it all up. I then spread the pieces onto a flat cookie pan and baked in the oven for about 10 mins. You can literally eat them as chips when they're done! I always make more as we all like to load them onto our salads! I also run the dressing through a small blender when I'm done, because I prefer it smooth, expecially when I'm using fresh herbs. If you can, let the dressing sit in the fridge for an hour or two, so the flavours can blend well.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Mar 2001
Reviewed by: KIMAR
This salad was a big hit at a luncheon where I served it. Everyone went back for seconds and also requested the recipe. Very attractive. I ordered sumac powder from Penzeys Spice Company for this. If you like ethnic/Mediterranean food, you'll love this!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Feb 2002
Reviewed by: Mally
This is my favorite recipe for fatoosh salad. Sumac has a sort of lemony taste to it -- very zesty. Everyone loves this salad and people always ask for the recipe after tasting it. I usually make it the day before (pita I make just before serving the salad). I also nuke the garlic for 8-10 seconds before adding. Sumac is hard to find, but you can get it online at this great spice site: http://www.kalustyans.com. Thanks Winna!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Aug 2002
Reviewed by: H2O MOM
This recipe is great. It really does taste like it came from a restaurant. If you use the "greek style" pitas, they seem to hold up better and not get mushy.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Feb 2003
Reviewed by: ANGIE
My boyfriend(who is from the middle east) said this is the best salad he had ever had in his entire life! The sumac really enhances this salad. I will definately use this recipe often.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes