My Reviews (19)

Norwegian Lamb and Cabbage Stew

This is a very popular dish from Norway which is usually served with boiled potatoes sprinkled with parsley.
Reviews (19)


29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: ANYELEA
I love this stuff! I grew up with it, and have made the dish over and over again. I don't know why it would take 2 hours to prepare it though - about 30 minutes is more like it, and the dish will benefit from cooking longer than 2 hours. Beside that - this is the way I have made this dish for the last 30 years. And - don't forget to serve it with boiled potatoes. All traditional Norwegian recipes, more or less, are served with boiled potatoes. Faarikaal - which means sheep in cabbage - is even better the next day. Make a huge pot full, I use a big stock pot - and enjoy this meal for at least two days!
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: Rebecca
Fabulous! I really enjoyed this--it was very easy to make. (I may be biased since I grew up eating Norwegian food) Either way, thanks for posting!
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: JTTERWELP
I thought this recipe was good but a little on the bland side for serving guests. I am Ukranian background and shared it with my mother and she loved it. However, we grew up with rather bland dishes and it actually brought back some fond memories of my grandmother's kitchen and cooking for both of us. The only difference is that my mother thought my greatgrandmother added some tomatoes, so possibly I would try adding a small can of stewed tomatoes the next time I made it.
 
26 Aug 2007
Reviewed by: kittysmomaz
I love this stuff! I grew up with it, and have made the dish over and over again. I don't know why it would take 2 hours to prepare it though - about 30 minutes is more like it, and the dish will benefit from cooking longer than 2 hours. Beside that - this is the way I have made this dish for the last 30 years. And - don't forget to serve it with boiled potatoes. All traditional Norwegian recipes, more or less, are served with boiled potatoes. Faarikaal - which means sheep in cabbage - is even better the next day. Make a huge pot full, I use a big stock pot - and enjoy this meal for at least two days!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: Synnove
I love farikal! Just a little tip: Most norwegians just sprinkle the pepper between the layers of lamb and cabbage. The taste is much better that way. A little more work to eat it, but well worth it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: Carolina
I thought this recipe was good but a little on the bland side for serving guests. I am Ukranian background and shared it with my mother and she loved it. However, we grew up with rather bland dishes and it actually brought back some fond memories of my grandmother's kitchen and cooking for both of us. The only difference is that my mother thought my greatgrandmother added some tomatoes, so possibly I would try adding a small can of stewed tomatoes the next time I made it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Nov 2007
Reviewed by: Ololade
Fabulous! I really enjoyed this--it was very easy to make. (I may be biased since I grew up eating Norwegian food) Either way, thanks for posting!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Jan 2011
I made this a while ago and I'm finally getting around to rating and reviewing this. It was good. I used lamb necks for stewing since the bones add such great flavor and the meat is so tender. It was a little to peppery for other people in my family, but I liked it well enough. There is some room for improvement though in the addition of a few more spices.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: Polina
Great recipe--simple to make yet soooo flavorful! Based on a reviewer before, I added a bit of onion, slices of one fresh tomato and used ground pepper. It took about 1 hour of cooking for the ingredients to be tender. Thanks so much for the recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Apr 2010
Reviewed by: Scurl
fantastic! i ground the pepper between the layers, and added a layer of sliced onion, served with boiled potatoes and some dark rye to soak up the excess juice...mmmmmm this will become a regular thing for us.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes