My Reviews (526)

Extra Easy Hummus

This has to be the easiest hummus you will ever make, and it's a firm favourite in our house. Adjust garlic to taste, or add a little lemon juice.
Reviews (526)


Comment:
29 Sep 2008
Salabras said:
Used different ingredients. a big hit! Note: I liked it even better with 1/2 teaspoon of lemon juice added.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: Carolynanne
This hummus was pretty good, but it was sort of bland. It was a lot better after adding paprika, a few drops of chilli oil, and some sesame seeds.
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
Jo-Lynn said:
Used different ingredients. I made two variations on this recipe. I left out the cumin and added fresh ground pepper. To one batch I added sun-dried tomatoes and a little crushed chillies to taste. That was REALLY yummy. To the other batch I added chilli paste, minced ginger, soy sauce to taste. The chilli paste gives it a real kick. I'm thinking kalamata olives and artichokes may work, too. Brilliant recipe.
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
IRISHLNZ said:
Made it healthier. I made this the first time by the recipe exactly. I missed the sesame flavour without the sesame paste, but liked the reduced fat/calorie idea. The second time I made it, I decided to use sesame oil instead of olive oil. This way, the calorie/fat difference was negligible, but the sesame flavour was included--YUMMY!! I also doubled the garlic and halved the cumin, as others suggested. I used 1 T lemon juice and added chickpea juice, as needed, during the blending process. For those on WW, 1/4 of this recipe is 2 points...put it on cucumber spears or carrots and you can't go wrong!
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: DEBORAH
This was really good, and easy to make. Tastes even better the next day after the flavour has time to combine.
 
15 Jul 2007
Reviewed by: Carrie
I made this the first time by the recipe exactly. I missed the sesame flavor without the sesame paste, but liked the reduced fat/calorie idea. The second time I made it, I decided to use sesame oil instead of olive oil. This way, the calorie/fat difference was negligible, but the sesame flavor was included--YUMMY!! I also doubled the garlic and halved the cumin, as others suggested. I used 1 T lemon juice and added bean juice, as needed, during the blending process. For those on WW, 1/4 of this recipe is 2 points...put it on cucumber spears or carrot chips and you can't go wrong!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: mls
great recipe, if you are looking an alternative to hummus without tahini. i doubled the garlic, halfed the cumin, added a few shakes of ground red pepper, and some lemon juice. you really need to add a little lemon, otherwise the recipe just isn't has "bright". i really enjoyed this one!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Jan 2002
Reviewed by: SPELTRONG
This hummus was pretty good, but it was sort of bland. It was a lot better after adding paprika, a few drops of chili oil, and some sesame seeds.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: Jillian
OMG! Who would've thought a little can of garbanzo beans could transform into something so delicous! It doesn't get easier or much simpler than this! I put everything into a mini food processor, used sesame oil vs. olive oil and upped the garlic. I also added in the reserved bean liquid as needed along with a splash of lemon juice. I served it topped with a bit of paprika and surrounded by homemade pita chips - YUM!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Aug 2006
Reviewed by: COOKFORMANY
"Impressive" my very picky husband concluded. He thought it was really good; I thought it was really good. The only thing this recipe was missing was lemon juice. After tasting it I knew it needed a little zip and some of the other recipes had called for it. Just what it needed. I just used the bottled stuff I had in the fridge and that worked wonders! Also, I didn't actually measure out the spices, so I can't verify that the portions given in this are correct. I'm pretty positive I didn't use the entire amount of cumin called for. I also used kosher salt. If you like garlic, I added an extra clove and I loved it. If your mix is gritty at all, don't fret. Just add a little more oil or lemon juice and blend more in the food processor. I think this would have not worked well in the blender. I served it with homemade naan bread and cucumbers. DELICIOUS!! (The first time I made I just ate it with some corn chips and it was great with that too.)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes