My Reviews (677)

Simple Strawberry Jam

Perfect strawberry jam recipe for beginners that doesn’t use pectin, yet still produces a soft, spreadable and delicious jam.
Reviews (677)


29 Nov 2012
Reviewed by: monito
wow , woke up this moring and remembered i had a whole lot of strawberries in the fridge so decided to search on the internet for what to make with them , found this recipe and thought why not ... never made jam before in my life , so easy and so yummy !! i only made half as i only had half a kilo of strawberries also i added vanilla essence , used the plate test and it worked perfectly am so proud of my delious strawberry jam will defenitly be doing it again !
 
11 Jun 2016
Reviewed by: cookingforme101
i love this jam recipe so much and it's perfect for scones and croissants!! my mother makes jam the same way!!!!
 
06 Nov 2015
Reviewed by: Kristie
Absolutely love this! Very easy delicious jam.
 
14 Oct 2015
Reviewed by: b07101
What does it mean when it says "water bath" help me! Other then that. SOO simple
 
13 Nov 2014
Reviewed by: Yasta
So easy, tastes great and kids love it, making my 2nd batch today 😀
 
05 May 2014
Reviewed by: JamMaker101
This looks like such an amazing recipe for Jam! I was just wondering how many strawberries do you need for just one jar of jam? and how do you do the plate test? I am making a jam for one of my classes at school for our Assignment and would really need your guys help Thanks for an awesome recipe ! JamMaker101
 
11 Sep 2013
Reviewed by: CharmaineHetem
Great result. The recipe was easy to follow and the jam came out perfectly. I will make this again and again. It came out so good I plan to make a few jars as gifts!
 
25 Sep 2007
Reviewed by: Sarah
Just the way my grandma makes it! A little advice: you can store the jam in any jar you got but make sure that you put the glass and the lids in boiling water to get all germs off. Place them on clean kicthen toweles upside down and make sure that you don't touch the inside of jar or lid, otheriwse you'll most likley end up with mold in your jam. Once the jam is in the glass, screw the lid on and place them upside down for about ten minuts. This way the jam will stay good for months and you don't have to freeze it. Small jars with a cute red&white piece of cloth around the lid make great gifts!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: Angela V.
This was my first time making jam/jelly. It was so easy to make and tastes great!!! My 9 year old son loves it. (I didn't even know where to get the jars from because it is not "the season" to make jam in MD yet! The craft store had the jars in stock.) Here are a few tips and/or lessons I learned... 1. Use a blender or chopper and puree the strawberries until you have four cups. 2. I did not have a thermometer, so I brought the mixture to a rolling boil stirring consistency for ten minutes. (All you will see is bubbles all over the bottom of the pot and foam in some areas. If you put a lid on, it will boil over your pot.) 3. I did the cold plate test to see if the mixture would jell. The first time I was unsure, so I gave it five more minutes of rolling boil time, then tried the plate test again. 4. When you get the jars ready, after soaking them in hot water, use tongs and silicone mitts to handle the glass jars because they will be VERY hot. 5. Place the strawberry jam mixture in the hot jars and put the lid on right away and then turn it upside down. 6. I waited 5 minutes and then turned them back over. This seals the jars. 7. Your jam will not look like jam/jelly, more like thick syrup. 8. Wait for it to "set" After 48 hours you will know if you did it right. 9. I got 2 and a half 16oz jars out of this recipe. I hope this helps. Check out the mason jar pics of my finished jam. Enjoy and Good Luck!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Sep 2007
Reviewed by: AUSSIEMUM1
Too sweet. The boil needs to be rolling - you cannot stir it down. It will splatter everywhere. This only set as jam after a night in the fridge. Next time I will cut the sugar - I was going to give a small jar to my grandma, but it is far too sweet. When you taste the mix just after the sugar dissolves, that is not the real sweetness. It intensifies once it's boiled so don't think it isn't sweet enough if you first taste it. I put three small plates in the freezer, put a small dob of jam on one and then replaced. After a minute I checked if I could run my finger through and had it jelled. Easy but too sweet. UPDATE : Gave it to Grandma, she loved it. FYI, you need 4 punnets of 250g strawberries to get 4 cups of mashed strawberries. Each result tastes a little different, so yum. I advise to follow it exactly, and it tastes a million times better than any jam from a supermarket. It's better to use the heaviest bottom huge pot you have, and start the boil slowly, move it up in quarter increments until high, this way it doesn't catch and burn. Don't be in a hurry, I burnt it when I needed it that afternoon because I was in a hurry, and brought it to the boil too fast in a thin bottomed pot.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes