My Reviews (155)

French Tarte aux Pommes

My mother used to make this all the time, usually to go with Sunday dinner. I was hooked. Haven't had it in ages and I was wanting to bake something special for a special someone so I asked mum for the recipe. Tried it out today, and it's just as I remember. The thing that makes it for me is the frangipane. Hope you like it as much as I do.
Reviews (155)


29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: gapch1026
This was a beautiful addition to my recent extended family roast dinner. It was time consuming, but turned out so nicely, I will definitely make it again. I thought it needed just a bit more almond flavour (was a little too buttery and bland for my taste), so next time I will add 1/4 tsp. almond extract to the frangipane. I thought the step about adding sugar during cooking was kind of unnecessary because you later spread apricot jelly on it. My sugar wouldn't caramelize, and I didn't want to overbrown the crust; as a result, the sugar part turned out a little globby, so I think I will skip that step next time. Thanks for the recipe!
 
25 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: nyammie
this recipe was great,, and it just perfect!! i just followed the recipe exactly like what written there.. received a lot of compliment for this tart.. Thank you for this recipe!
 
16 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: apar129
Star recipe! Make to impress your guests but not if you want leftovers!!
 
03 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: Antz
Amazing! This was so easy to make, impressive looking and of course delicious. The pastry was light & crisp, the filling not too sweet & the apples not too tart. Yummo!!!
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
LindaT said:
Used different ingredients. This was my first attempt at a tart and I cheated with a pre-bought pastry case which was very nice! The tart was easy to make and I substituted the brandy with vanilla vodka which complements the delicate flavours of the apples and almonds perfectly. This tart looks very impressive and also tastes lovely so I will definately be making it again.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: DARS3
This tart really looked nice with the apples spiraled together and the browned sugar on top. I didn't have any apple brandy so I omited that and added just a touch of apple juice instead. The almonds and the apples were delicious together, and the pastry was nice and flaky. I did have to bake this longer than suggested, probably about 15 to 20 minutes longer. My only complaint was that it seemed a little greasy. Other than that, a really tasty tart.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: Yolanda
It looked and tasted like a professionaly baked tart. I was quite impressed as were my guests. Thanks.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: BREMEN35
absolutely fabulous!
 
14 Oct 2005
Reviewed by: Barrygirl
This was my first attempt at a tart and I cheated with a pre-bought pastry case from Sainsbury's which was very nice! The tart was easy to make and I substituted the brandy with vanilla vodka which complements the delicate flavours of the apples and almonds perfectly. This tart looks very impressive and also tastes lovely so I will definately be making it again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: KRANEY
This was a beautiful addition to my Thanksgiving dinner, and was perfect for those who didn't care for pumpkin pie! I have made this several times, each time trying to make adjustments to keep it from being so buttery. Final tweaks to the dough: 1 1/2 cup flour (instead of 1 1/3 cup), 1/4 tsp salt (instead of a pinch), 1/4 cup sugar (if you want it a little sweeter), 1 egg (instead of 1 egg yolk), and NO water. Refrigerate for at least 1 hour in the plastic wrap. Tweaks to the frangipane: add 1/2 tsp. almond extract, and toast the almonds before grinding. Roll out the pastry dough, fit into the pan, then refrigerate 30 minutes. Add the frangipane, then the apples (use small apples - makes fitting them in the pan MUCH easier), then refrigerate for 30 minutes. Bake on the oven rack, not on a baking sheet. Perfection! Thanks for the recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes