My Reviews (29)

Homemade Hot Sauce

If you like Tabasco you'll love making your own hot sauce. This will spice up cold meats, marinades, vegetable dishes - just about anything! Keep refrigerated.
Reviews (29)


10 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: Lisa Smith Davis
This stuff is pretty good! Smooth and delicious! Not too hot, just right!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Aug 2015
Reviewed by: barb
Tried this today, wow, mine definitely has a lot of heat! My peppers were obviously hot. (Usually my peppers are not that hot). Followed the recipe, but added garlic cloves. After blending, I added sour cream, juice of a lime, and some cilantro which calmed the heat a bit. Very tasty with a nice afterburn. Will make this again, but may use a combo of milder peppers to tone it down.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Jun 2012
Reviewed by: Susan Quinn
I really liked this hot sauce. I boiled it outside on the grill so that I could avoid having capsaicin floating all over my kitchen, plus it was over 100 outside, so I didnt' want to heat up the house. I transferred the boiled peppers and some of the remaining water to a 2 cup pyrex measuring glass. I added EVOO and salt and used my emulsion blender which worked very nicely to blend it smooth. Thanks for posting this recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: thegnome
Wow!
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
28 Jan 2017
Reviewed by: DeathOfTime
makes for a great sauce. All it adds to any dish I top it on is a lot of heat and a little Jalapeno/water flavor. Much different then the store bought sauces I usually put on things. They cover the dishes flavor with their own. This sauce just added to the dish. I forgot to leave the fresh pepper for the blending. I left in all the seeds. Added no salt or pepper. Used olive oil instead of canola. Pretty certain I will be making this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Nov 2016
Reviewed by: Nate67
Like previous cooks, I added garlic and a minced onion, and left half the seeds. Not hot enough or flavorful for me (but still really good). I added lime juice and cilantro and puréed with the immersion blender. Very tasty but still not very spicy, so I gave it a good squirt of hot chili oil. Ta Da!! Great flavor and then has some heat on the back end. Probably won't be bad as a stand alone salsa but I'm going to make enchiladas verde with it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Nov 2014
Reviewed by: muraydog
Hot but no real flavour. I'll stick with my Frank's. Cooking the peppers cleared out the nasal passages of everyone within a two kilometre radius.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Jul 2014
Reviewed by: Mary
Salt & Pepper to taste!HA HA HA. Added salt, took a taste and couldn't taste anything for a half hour. Very fresh tasting. Great mixed with sour cream for Tex-Mex food.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Dec 2013
Reviewed by: kateh
This a great way for me to use all the extra chillies in my garden. Very tasty and spicy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes