My Reviews (29)

Homemade Hot Sauce

If you like Tabasco you'll love making your own hot sauce. This will spice up cold meats, marinades, vegetable dishes - just about anything! Keep refrigerated.
Reviews (29)


01 May 2007
Reviewed by: liza
I was so suprised how good this was. I tuned it down a bit by only adding half of the fresh pepper, it was enough kick to enjoy! Be careful when cutting the Jalapenos, you can smell the heat. So good, it's a must try!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Nov 2005
Reviewed by: LIZCANCOOK
I'd originally given this 4 stars, but I need to make it 2. Waaaay too much work! We love Mexican food, but, for the life of me, I couldn't figure out what to do with this once it was made. We added 2t to a big pot of chili, but the remainder got moldy in the fridge.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: Java_Girl
Great salsa! This is a little chunkier than the Jalapeno Hot Sauce on this site because of the raw jalapeno thrown in the blender, but I like it just as much. It's more like the green salsa that is sold in the little mexican markets but without the tomatillos. I only seeded half the jalapenos because we like ours pretty spicy. It's a great mix-in for guacamole!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: abostian
I love this sauce! I get it at Cha Cha Cha in Portland all the time and have been searching for the recipe. I am glad it is so easy! I left all of the seeds and membranes in, and used olive oil instead of canola and it turned out perfectly! You feel like a maniac when you are cutting up all those jalapenos, but it is well worth it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: oodledoodles
This Jalapeno Sauce was a huge hit with my family! I made it when i was working on some burritos for lunch. Recipe is simple and its super easy to make. I also added about 5 pieces of Bird's Eye Chilli (red, tiny, very very intensely hot) to give it that extra ZZZING to the sauce. We are chilli people so we liked it very spicy. I also added a tablespoon of sour cream to the mixture for a little sour kick. Mixture became even creamier. Had a whole lot of fun making this. Delicious CAUTION: When you de-seed the jalapenos, please use a glove or something. I ran out of gloves and used my bare hands - BIG MISTAKE as it was red and burning for the entire day!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Apr 2010
Reviewed by: julia2937
Could not believe how delicious and easy this was. I have been putting this on everything for the past two days. I am going to try this with pesto as a pasta sauce soon.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Jan 2012
Reviewed by: heathercfsps
My husband enjoys hot flavors, but still wants to be able to taste the item, not just the heat. He says this one does just that. Has an excellent jalapeno flavor. I did adjust the recipe just a bit. I kept 2 whole jalapenos; stemmed & seeded the rest. Boiled 1/2 of those & roasted the other 1/2. Then combined everything into the blender. I really thought this would have more of a hot sauce consistency, it does not. It has a "dip" consistency. Taste is excellent, but not hot. I have to assume that is because of my jalapenos...not a HOT batch, I guess.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Jul 2012
Reviewed by: Rick
Yes, so I modified this as well. Used only 5 peppers, 1/2 of one held back. Then after boiling the peppers, added a couple of cloves of garlic and 1/4 cup cilantro. After blending, folded in about 1/4 cup of parmesan cheese (a la pesto). Makes an incredible sauce for any Thai dish, noodle dish, or just on fresh veggies!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: dgodbold
Spicy baby food
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: orange peel
this is a great sauce to add to other sauces, soups, dressings, rice, mayonnaise, sandwiches, dips and just about anything else you can think of!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes