My Reviews (65)

Hamantaschen Biscuits

A great biscuit for Purim, the Jewish holiday. Some people think the dough works best if refrigerated overnight, others if used immediately. You decide.
Reviews (65)


20 Mar 2019
Reviewed by: Laura
This was a great recipe. The only change I made was to only add 4 1/2 cups flour because I was adding flour as I was rolling out the dough. We put chocolate chips in some and I made some apple pie filling to put in the others. They were like little personal apple pies.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Dec 2018
Reviewed by: Rebecca from LA
Yum! These are tasty cookies! I substituted butter for oil, milk for orange juice, and added 2T of sugar. Brushed with egg white which made them pretty and glossy. Cooked for 16 minutes. It's important that you use a good quality jam -my favorite is St Dalfour Red Raspberry. When I used a cheaper jam from the dollar store, it leaked out despite the cookies being made the same way. Thanks for the recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Dec 2018
Reviewed by: Connie
This was a great recipe! I used oil as the recipe called for rather than substituting butter as others have done. I didn't need to refrigerate the dough... I was able to work with it just fine. I used poppy seed filling, almond filling, and a delicious fig orange spread. When i was done i lightly dusted them with powdered sugar fresh out of the oven. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Mar 2018
Reviewed by: htina
Decided to make a half batch late in the evening and recipe lived up to its name. The main thing with oil based dough is to ensure wet ingredients mix well as oil sinks to the bottom and sugar does not incorporate as well. The stand mixer dough hook made for quick work and i didn’t have to use much extra flour. The
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Feb 2018
I would've given it 5 stars, but I had to make one adjustment. I used only 3 cups of flour, as I only had a hand mixer and the motor was starting to burn up because the dough was just too thick (so best with a Kitchenaid mixer). I also refrigerated it for several hours. These came out beautifully, just like my mom used to make. This recipe (with adjustments on the flour) is a keeper!! Please note that I live in CO at an altitude of 7,500 ft above sea level. Not sure if this makes a difference, but baking at this altitude is always a challenge.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Mar 2017
Reviewed by: Ellen
I have been using this recipe for years. The key to them not unfolding is to refrigerate dough. Take out small balls at a time and us a silicone mat with a vert small to no additional floor. Dough stays tacky and vet easy to squash together into triangle shape. These are delicious! These are cookie Hamentashen....not the cake kind. These are preferred by my family.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Oct 2016
Reviewed by: cezzer1
If I wanted to replace the oil with unsalted butter what amount of butter should i use ?
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
24 Mar 2016
Reviewed by: Emily Ivey
I noticed the dough starting to get dry so I stopped adding flour. In the end I probadly used about 75% of what they recommend and it was still a little dry.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Mar 2016
Reviewed by: Jeb
I found the recipe incredibly easy to make. I followed it exactly and used apricot and raspberry jam. Unlike some others, I didn't have any issues with the dough being too sticky. My mat is silicon and adding a little flour to it and the rolling pin worked well. Tip - if the dough is too thick when it's rolled out, the corners won't stay pinched together well.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Mar 2016
Reviewed by: nancym
I agree with the "doughy and bland" crowd. They taste like biscuits. Two teaspoons is too much filling and I would roll out thinner. Almond extract and butter would help, too.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes