My Reviews (81)

Argentinian Empanadas

You'll love these juicy meat pastries like you love any pie or pastie. You can use other meat for this recipe - if it's not mince, make sure it is cut into tiny pieces.
Reviews (81)


13 Dec 2004
Reviewed by: AHAMMER
My mom is from Peru and she makes empandas from a very similar recipe. This recipe gets two thumbs up for its authenticity! The only difference between my mom's empanadas and this recipe is the way you cook the beef. In my mom's recipe the beef is fried with all of the seasonings and onions. It is then drained of its excess fat. 80% lean works best because it prevents the meat from getting dried out when baking. I grew up eating beef empanadas and they are great! I think condiments really add something to the empandas; we always ate them with either lemon squeezed over them which works really well with the sweetness of the raisins and the spicyness of the paprika. The second option was to pour a few shakes of hotsauce to into your empanada. Cayenne peppersauce is excellent on an empanada!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: Stephanie
Go to the frozen foods and get the Goya or Saltano brand of empanada dough. You won't get an authentic empanada with puff pastry. You can fills these with veggies, chicken, ham and cheese (sprinkle oregano for an authentic Argentine flavor). In Argentina they use different patterns in the crust edges to distinguish the type of empanda that you are eating. In my opinion the raisins are a more Chilean style and my husband's family, nor our friends include them, but I'm sure this varies from family to family.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: penny p.
I only made the filling from this recipe (made my own empanada dough from scratch)and it was great! Very authentic tasting! I am only giving it 4 stars instead of 5, because traditional Argentinean empanadas are made with dough and not puff pastry. Also, you can simply saute the beef before using...no need to make it more complicated by using a sieve. It ends up tasting the same. Give this one a try!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Oct 2001
Reviewed by: EARTH*ANGEL
This was a really delicious. I made a few changes though. I added diced, precooked pototoes and a lil bit of frozen peas and it was delicious. I served it to a few friends and they all loved it and wanted the recipe. I also used puff pastry.This is a keeper!! Thank you
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Jul 2005
Reviewed by: Kim
just wanted to note -a below user said it didnt work with filo, thats because the recipe calls for puff pastry. They are 2 different things!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Jun 2006
Reviewed by: TinyTurtle
Thank you! I am originally from Paraguay, love empanadas! Reminds me of home. The only thing we did differently was add green olives, it adds a unique flavor.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Jun 2000
Reviewed by: BETRHELTH
Absolutely delicious!!!! What an awesome recipe... I lived in Chile for awhile, and empanadas were a mainstay.. but I love this variation with the phyllo dough!!! Would love to know if there are any variations for the cheese and chicken empanadas!!! Thanks for a great recipe...
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: Elizabeth Moser
Great recipe. I changed it up a little. I used a leftover spoon roast I had from the night before and minced it a food processor. I also made pizza dough to use as the dough. I also tried it with puff pastry-but the pizza dough was easier to work with and tasted great. I also added fresh cilantro. It was very good.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Apr 2011
Reviewed by: remi
Close but not quite. I've made these several times and was shown how by my friend from Buenos Aires. We use almost the same ingredients except... No shortening, 1- white onion, No paprika- Hungarian or hot, No vinegar, 1/4 teaspoon of cayenne, and Filo dough brushed with raw egg at the seam and on top. They turned out perfect every time and tasted great. Side note- friend preferred pimento stuffed green olives while I did not.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: Milla
As a born-and-raised Argetine, these are really, really close to the real thing. I always leave the eggs out I just sautee everything together, but I wanted to say go to your local latin/spanish market and get the real empanada dough, it's much better!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes