My Reviews (107)

Victoria Sponge

This style 'Victoria sponge' is a blast to the past of the much loved English favourite, although called a sponge, it is actually made of a denser style pound cake.
Reviews (107)


06 Feb 2015
Reviewed by: RosellinaBella
It doesn't rise, tastes good but use a Mary berry recipe for better results
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
16 Dec 2014
Reviewed by: Tingeling
Very simple and delicious cake! Weighing the eggs is a top top!
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
13 Dec 2014
Reviewed by: BruceMatthews
Didn't rise
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
21 Nov 2014
Reviewed by: cakesbytati
OMG thank you so much for this wonderful recipe!!! I tried so many and they all failed but this one turned out PERFECT!!! Gonna keep that one forever for sure
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
13 Nov 2014
Reviewed by: TomQuinlan
Never baked before but made this my mum for her birthday and found it easy. It did rise well and looks great. Too much buttercream though, I'll use less next time
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
27 Oct 2014
Reviewed by: abster89
unfortunately mine has barely risen at all even though I followed the recipe to the letter. It tastes nice though
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
26 Oct 2014
Reviewed by: Emmatasker82
I made this recipe and it was lovely but cos I had a proper cake tin I had to make it twice to make a full size cake so I've just done it again and what I did I double the recipe and it took an hour to cook but turned out brilliant
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
05 Oct 2014
Reviewed by: KirsteenMacleod
the trick with weighing the eggs is brilliant! I love that this recipe gives a firm crust, this is perfect if you are applying fondant to decorate. The texture is just perfect, moist and a delicious taste.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
05 Oct 2014
Reviewed by: LauraBeahan
Great easy recipe.... I also added baking powder because I love a light fluffy sponge. Worked really well
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
29 Sep 2014
Reviewed by: Crochety
My daughter made this for us on her own this at the weekend. Instructions were easy to follow and she had no trouble. She used double cream, jam and mixed berries to decorate. Very tasty.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes