My Reviews (107)

Victoria Sponge

This style 'Victoria sponge' is a blast to the past of the much loved English favourite, although called a sponge, it is actually made of a denser style pound cake.
Reviews (107)


24 Mar 2012
Reviewed by: taslima
very easy to make i also just creamed the whole cake with whipped cream and put strawberys top of it. yum yum
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
03 Oct 2012
Reviewed by: Dudeskin
Tried this for the first time yesterday and was surprisingly simple to do, in fact the hardest part was working out how to line the tins with baking parchment lol. Tasted very nice and pretty much what I'd expect from shop-bought but one piece of advice try not to eat a whole half in one sitting.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
11 Mar 2012
Reviewed by: daddysbuns
used this recipe tonight for the first time ever making a cake with my 2 1/2 and 5 year old. excellent job, finished making it at 7 and at 9:30 one slither left. thanks for posting it!!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
12 Feb 2013
Reviewed by: speamy
lovely cake, really easy to make. However mine only took 15 mins to bake!
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
Comment:
20 Apr 2010
Used different ingredients. If you want something a little different you could use extra thick whipped cream in place of the butter cream, its just as good!
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
14 May 2012
Reviewed by: TeaOfMischief
Love this recipe! Possibly the simplest cake recipe I've ever found, and it has turned out beautiful every time. My cake tins are a little bigger than the recipe stated so I had thinner layers than a 'classic' Vic Sponge, but it was very well received by my hungry friends!
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
06 Mar 2012
Reviewed by: hannahw
This is only the second cake I have ever made, I took it into work and the girls loved it, one even thought I hadn't really made it but bought it from M and S, I had to bring the recipe in to show her to prove it. So I can say this recipe is one I will definitely make again. Thanks for sharing.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
24 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: jezster
Classic Vicky Sponge
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
Comment:
25 Dec 2010
Ruksanapatel said:
Used different ingredients. for sandwiching the cake i used Betty Crocker vanilla filling, to cover the cake and on top, i used Betty Crocker Chocollate Fudge icing, also i used crushed snowballs for the topping of the cake.. See my review on this recipe. Turned out really delicious.. I would call this cake Victoria Sandwich with marshmallow topping.. Umm, kids and adults loved it..
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
25 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: Ruksanapatel
This cake is so easy to make, nice and light.. For the filling of the sandwich, i used Betty Crocker vanilla filling to sandwich the cake together and Betty Crocker Chocolate fudge spread all around the cake as well as the top. Then i got at least 7 snowballs (marshmallows surrounded with chocolate covererd with coconut).. take a tablespoon and just crush each marshallow flat, take a pallet knife cut in half then lift of the plate and place on top of cake, carry on until the top of the cake is covered. Umm it turned out really lovely, i took it to work, all my work colleagues loved it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes