My Reviews (107)

Victoria Sponge

This style 'Victoria sponge' is a blast to the past of the much loved English favourite, although called a sponge, it is actually made of a denser style pound cake.
Reviews (107)


15 Dec 2011
Reviewed by: paslode10
I just made this sponge but mine has not risen very much and had bubbles on the top what did i do wrong please.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
Comment:
29 Nov 2012
Bakinglover said:
Can someone help me out? Im going to make this for my sisters birthday soon and i have a question, if i don't have self-raising flour could i use all-purposed flour and like a teaspoon of baking powder? Or 1\2 a teaspoon? someone please reply! thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
20 Aug 2012
Reviewed by: DragonMistWitch
I used this recipe for an entry for my local Horticultural Society Annual Show at the weekend. I dusted it with caster sugar instead of icing sugar and filled it with a good quality raspberry jam (as per WI standards). Pleasingly I attained a FIRST place for it, so thank you very much for this lovely recipe. This week I am going to make another one to fill with homemade blueberry jam.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
24 Jun 2012
Reviewed by: Ellie_
This was a PERFECT Victoria sponge. Was really easy to follow, looked fab and tasted yum! Will be making another this afternoon for a friend. Thanks for the recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
29 May 2012
Reviewed by: Witchcraft
Absoloutely Perfect, It came out better than I'd imagined. Real Simple Instructions made it a whole lot Easier too. Thanks for this Recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
14 May 2012
Reviewed by: MrsMcGarry
I have been baking with these ingredients for years and found this recipe the best yet, its a lovely quick bake mine always come out so perfectly fluffy and light.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
04 Jun 2012
Reviewed by: cate
I absolutely love this recipe, it's so easy and the sponge is yummy
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
03 Jun 2012
Reviewed by: Antares
Lovely tasting cake but doesn't rise that much. Looks gorgeous though.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
19 May 2012
Reviewed by: Madquackers
Sandwiched together with homemade lemon curd and whipped cream. Didn't last long at work! Yum!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
18 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: Claireabella
My children loved this! I whipped fresh cream and icing sugar together for the filling.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes