My Reviews (9)

Coffee Custard

This is a Dutch type of custard called hopjesvla. You can use instant coffee or strong brewed coffee depending on how much you like the coffee taste.
Reviews (9)


29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: KNIER003
This was a little too sweet however had a lovely flavour and was thick & creamy. Next time I would reduce the sugar to a quarter cup as caramelizing the sugar intensifies the flavour. The sugar really did get stiff when the milk mixture was added but melted down again as the recipe stated. Would like to try this with chocolate as a flavouring rather than coffee.
 
03 Dec 2011
Reviewed by: willanthry
Very easy to make, and a nice sweet taste. I made this for some caffiene addicts and they enjoyed it very much! I brewed the coffee very strong. Thanks for sharing this!
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: SEKELSEY
Easy to make and delicious. Use strong coffee for best taste. Hint: Don't use a plastic spoon to stir it. I ended up with melted plastic bits in my first batch.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: Debbie
This wasn't very hard to make, and my family loved it! I guess it could be too sweet for some people... but not me.
 
18 Sep 2004
Reviewed by: HorB
Easy to make and delicious. Use strong coffee for best taste. Hint: Don't use a plastic spoon to stir it. I ended up with melted plastic bits in my first batch.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Nov 2005
Reviewed by: Hot Chilli
This was a little too sweet however had a lovely flavour and was thick & creamy. Next time I would reduce the sugar to a quarter cup as caramelizing the sugar intensifies the flavour. The sugar really did get stiff when the milk mixture was added but melted down again as the recipe stated. Would like to try this with chocolate as a flavouring rather than coffee.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: JudyAngel101
Really good recipe! I reccomend adding a dash of salt and VERY strong coffee, the flavour was a tiny bit bland. I did use less sugar and it was sweet enough. The sugar turned hard as rock when i added the milk but it melted after. Will definitly make again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Oct 2003
Reviewed by: HOUSTONIAN
This wasn't very hard to make, and my family loved it! I guess it could be too sweet for some people... but not me.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Dec 2017
Reviewed by: SHRLYANN
While it came together until the end it is very unappetizing to look at. Folding whipped egg whites into a hot pudding results in a white flecked brown mixture. It's very sweet but has very little actual flavor. I'm sorry to say I had to toss the whole thing down the disposer. If I do try again I won't add the egg white at the end and will use an extract or something to give it flavor.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes