My Reviews (12)

Garlic, Olive Oil and Chilli Spaghetti

This is a traditional Italian dish known as 'Spaghetti Aglio, Olio e Peperoncino', It is a speedy dish with simple but gorgeous flavours.
Reviews (12)


13 Jun 2012
Reviewed by: Pauly
This has always been one of my fave pasta dishes. I prefer to cook whole flattened garlic cloves and remove them when golden. I also add a splash of white wine instead of the pasta liquid and then finish with the best oil you can afford before serving, Delizioso! 200g spaghetti is a bit stingy for 2 people I find, I use about 150g per person.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
13 May 2012
Reviewed by: carolinej
Love love love this recipe. Made it loads of times since I found it on here having eaten it in Italy. The addition of the pasta water to the oil based sauce is important to the consistency. I add loads of black pepper and use dried chilli flakes and fine herbs usually and I sprinkle it with parmesan. Lovely and very easy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
03 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: minxtabb
wonderfully quick and tasty supper dish that can be whipped up in a flash! perfect for during the week.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
15 Apr 2015
Reviewed by: CarolineOdonnell
i tried this thinking i had all the ingredients needed- i didnt, i used penne pasta (tri coloured) and i also never had fresh chilli or parsley so i fried dried chilli seeds, garlic and some dried thyme and basil and tossed the pasta into the pan, it turned out lovely and id certainly make again
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
26 Jan 2015
Reviewed by: JOHNHASSALL1
Really enjoyed this pasta dish, We had it with lemon and garlic chicken. A amazing combination, We will defiantly be having this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
14 Nov 2014
Reviewed by: tiny.toes
This is a really nice quick and simple dish to make. I added some mushrooms and olives to mine. I also used corriander as I didn't have any parsley but I think basil would work great with this too. It's a dish that you can play about with and try adding is different things to suit your taste. Didn't give it 5 stars as it isn't going to blow your mind, but for quick and easy meal that is also cheap it is a definite winner.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
24 Jun 2009
Reviewed by: Michaelevi
certainly quick and easy and the chili added a subtle kick. i threw in some chopped sun dried tomatoes at the end to give it a bit more flavour and passed on the salt
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
10 Dec 2017
Reviewed by: shiwen55
Instead of garlic, you can use onions and chives. I make this most of the time when there's nothing in the fridge and we need a quick fix. Fry some onions with chives (dried from supermarkets, about two teaspoons) and chillis, then add boiled spaghetti.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
07 Aug 2014
Reviewed by: Mushbobomb
Have been looking for a recipe like this for ages. It's simple, requires few ingredients and is perfect
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
29 Jun 2014
Reviewed by: YigalRaymond
I first had this dish in Sicily with my ex wife who is Sicilian. Anyway, I tweaked it by adding fresh thinly sliced mushrooms and chopped turkey slices to the frying oil. It was lovely. I would strongly advise the following: do not use dried substitutes for the main ingredients e.g. dried garlic powder, dried parsley,etc. It will taste awful. Anyway, enjoy this classic italian or tweak it your own way. Try frying some thinly sliced beef or chicken with mushrooms, courgettes, aubergines, whatever you like. It's a very forgiving base.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes