My Reviews (81)

Beef and Vegetable Stew in the Slow Cooker

I love the smell throughout the house of food cooking. This slowed cooked beef stew does that as I kick back and wait for the beef and vegetables to be cooked to perfection.
Reviews (81)


16 Jan 2016
Reviewed by: suermuzz
I liked this recipe, however my husband is very picky and he didn't like it with the mushrooms. He liked the flavor but can be funny with mushrooms. I added tabasco sauce for a bit of spice about 5 dashes. Served with mash potato. I added rice on the second meal (bit runny) and added more tabasco sauce about 4 dashes. Better with mash potato, but still nice. If I make again it would be only for me.
 
07 Mar 2012
Reviewed by: HowardCooke
Really tasty. I used my slow cooker so made one or two amendments to the cooking stage but the result was great. A word of advice for slow cooker users though, the water content is too much and will turn out a bit runny. I would suggest using about half the suggested water and add more if you need to. Dont change anything else though, its great.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
04 Dec 2011
Reviewed by: jamieuk
Very tasty recipe, however I felt I should add an onion and cubed potato!
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
Comment:
07 Jul 2010
HenryJ said:
Altered ingredient amounts. Substitued one of the pints of water for a pint of stout. Mmmm
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
Comment:
14 Apr 2010
Used different ingredients. I added peas, carrots, cubed potatoes, garlic, bouquet garni and a glass of red wine and cooked it on Auto for 8 hours and it tasted FANTASTIC!!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
Comment:
04 Feb 2011
oldnick said:
Altered ingredient amounts. part boiled swede and carrots added one onion and two cloves garlic sauted and substituted half a pint of the water for a pint of red wine, was lovely
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
04 Nov 2012
Reviewed by: Lovell
Love this, have now made it 3 times. Fab instructions. I don't use marmite and I use lamb instead of beef. To save on dishes I cover the meat in oil in the frying pan I will use to cook with (just saves using another bowl). Toss the meat in the flour and then back into the pan to cook.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
08 Feb 2012
Reviewed by: Jonesy1
Abolsolutely gorgeous. Best caserole I've done in the slow cooker for flavour. I followed the receipe exactly apart from didn't use the marmite. It was a bit watery so I mixed up some bisto gravy powder and added that about 1.5hrs before serving, which made it just right and also added more flavour. I also added some mixed herbs at the same time as the bisto. Definately a hit with the family. Will be doing again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
04 Jan 2012
Reviewed by: janjo
Easy and delicious. To make sure the veg are cooked properly, I put them, with a little water, in the microwave for 3 - 5 mins, depending on how many, then into the slow cooker.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
Comment:
24 Oct 2010
ColinP said:
Took shortcuts. everything else is ready before the carrots are maybe you should boil the carrots first so the carrot are done at the same time as everything else is
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes