My Reviews (49)

Hazelnut Dukkah

Dukkah is an Egyptian spice and nut blend that is served on crusty bread dipped in olive oil. It is thoroughly addictive. It is normally made with pistachios, this version is based on hazelnuts.
Reviews (49)


Comment:
29 Sep 2008
msp said:
Altered ingredient amounts. I became a member just so that I could rate this recipe--it's excellent! I didn't add the full amount of pepper (personal preference) and left some of the skin on the hazelnuts (to save time) and my guests gobbled it up! Very unique flavour, but not too bizarre for picky eaters. Will definitely make again!!!
 
Comment:
08 Aug 2012
Carrie said:
I was just down in Tasmania and had a personal sized pizza thin crust but not too thin using a garlic sauce base with BBQ chicken in small size bits, red onion, cheese but not heavily and then sprinkled generously with DUKKAH. This one happened to be Pistachio as the nut but any would do!! HEAVEN ON A PLATE!
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
Kiltswinger said:
Used different ingredients. GREAT RECIPE. My oldest son is addicted to dukkah. (He loves it sprinkled on buttered fresh bread.) The only change I had to make was to replace the hazelnuts with toasted blanched almonds because I can't get hold of hazelnuts in any of my local supermarkets.
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
Adina said:
Altered ingredient amounts. A favourite with my family :-) Add a heaped teaspoon of Turmeric - makes it a great authentic colour and adds a little something to the taste. Also, try Avocado oil to dip in to - a lovely alternative to EV Olive oil and is also a mono-unsaturated oil with no trans-fats (yes, really none!) I know it is expensive but it is worth it and you only have a small amount at a time.
 
24 Aug 2012
Reviewed by: spookylean
This is divine. I want to try it with pistachio nuts. It's important to use coarse salt so you get the occasional little burst of saltiness, not a salt-saturated flavour.
 
08 Aug 2012
Reviewed by: Carrie
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: Nick D
Very yummy, have not tasted anything like it before. It is also really nice sprinkled on salads.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: FATDAVE
Very delicious! Add as topping on a salad with fresh, green lettuce, hard-boiled eggs, olive oil and lemon, and serve with turkish bread, for a sumptuous, vegetarian meal.
 
01 Mar 2006
Reviewed by: Emily S
I became a member just so that I could rate this recipe--it's excellent! I didn't add the full amount of pepper (personal preference) and left some of the skin on the hazelnuts (to save time) and my guests gobbled it up! Very unique flavor, but not too bizarre for picky eaters. Whole coriander and cumin seed are easy to find and cheap at Indian markets. Will definitely make again!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: Dave C
A favorite with my family :-) Add a heaped teaspoon of Turmeric - makes it a great authentic color and adds a little something to the taste. Also, try Avocado oil to dip in to - a lovely alternative to EV Olive oil and is also a mono-unsaturated oil with no trans-fats (yes, really none!) I know it is expensive but it is worth it and you only have a small amount at a time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes