My Reviews (907)

Italian Salad Dressing Herb Mix

This Italian dressing mix is a combination of eight herbs. Keep in an airtight jar and mix a few tablespoons with olive oil and vinegar when ready to serve.
Reviews (907)


21 Aug 2006
Reviewed by: Taco Cat
This is a delicious and light-tasting Italian dressing! Per other reviewers, I eliminated the 2 tablespoons of salt and it was just right without it. I doubled this recipe to fill a 16 oz bottle. I used balsamic vinegar which makes this extra special. It seemed like the amount of oregano was excessive but really it is perfect once mixed and poured on the salad. This dressing mixes and tastes best when the ingredients are allowed to "marry" overnight in the refrigerator. Finally a wonderful salad dressing that tastes as good as any in an Italian restaurant - we loved it! Update - Since I doubled the recipe, I used 1 tablespoon garlic salt and one tablespoon garlic powder which really gives this dressing a smooth taste with less saltiness. After making this quite a few times, adding a bit more sugar will temper down the acidic taste. I've also been adventurous and added dried, minced onion bits. Yummy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: MEleanor
To replicate the Zesty Good Seasons mix, add 1 tablespoon dried red and green bell pepper mix (found with the dried spices) plus 1 teaspoon dried red pepper flakes. Also, I suggest omitting the 2 tablespoons salt. You may want to add 1 tablespoon lemon pepper (not lemon pepper salt!) to increase the "zest." Experiment with balsamic vinegar, fruit juices (orange juice is great with red wine vinegar) and flavored oils. Side notes: Blend the vinegar and 2 tablespoons mix and let sit for at least 5 minutes before proceeding with the recipe. This helps dissolve the individual spices and herbs. The water is unnecessary. You only need that with the Good Seasons mix, for goodness knows what chemical reaction to occur. This dressing will not stay emulsified (mixed) when stored in the refrigerator. Just shake it up well before use.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Mar 2003
Reviewed by: Navy_Mommy
I make my own Italian dressings most of the time, but I use a ton of italian dressing mix when I cook and it gets very expensive. This recipe is great. I have used it for everything from marinading steaks to on popcorn. I think it is actually more flavorful that the packaged kind. I have not however tried to make it into dressing though. The the reviewers that complained about the lack of zestyness I would suggest adding a couple of shakes of red pepper flakes to your dressing. This should increase the zing. Hot sauce also works, but you tend to be able to taste it more the the pepper. I also decreased the salt by half. I just worried that 2 T was too much. I was right, the saltiness was perfect for us. I won't be buying any more packaged italian dressing mix from now on. Thank you Debby!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Jun 2008
Reviewed by: Hazel Wagner
I want to add an update to this review... I recently added this mix to a 50/50 blend of mayo/sour cream to make a veggie dip. It was great. I would say it would also be great for chips, or if you thin it with a little milk, it would make a great ranch dressing. Again - I left out the salt. This is the best, simplest, most useful & versatile recipe I have found for italian salad dressing on this site. It is wonderful as is, and I have made it several times with modifications per our taste of the day. I've used olive oil, canola, red wine vinegar, cider vinegar, balsamic and combinations of these. I have also substituted salt-free seasoning (just the cheap kind from Big Lots) for the salt. These changes all work well. Substituting Marjoram or Savory for the Thyme, celery seed for celery salt, 1/2 garlic powder for the garlic salt also works well. Sometimes I add a squirt or two of spicy brown mustard when mixing in the oil & vinegar. Thanks for submitting it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Apr 2004
Reviewed by: ROSLYNNY
I loved this recipe. When spooning out the seasoning mix, I felt that I couldn't get an even amount of the granulated seasoning and flaky seasoning. The next time I make this, I will separate items like sugar, salt, onion powder, pepper, celery salt from items like basil, oregano, parsley, thyme and spoon 1T of each (granulated and flaky). The great thing about this recipe is it is a versatile Italian season mix. I spooned out this mix into a cold pasta salad, and I spooned some into a homemade pasta sauce. You don't have to use this just for salad dressing. Try it. Experiment with it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Apr 2005
Reviewed by: Katherine
This is a very good dressing mix. I agree with many other reviewers, though.... I use less salt and either all garlic powder or a mix of galic salt and garlic powder. Like Stephanie, I also prepare this in a Good Season's cruet. I use the lines on the bottle (vinegar, water, oil) and 2 heaping tablespoons of this mix.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 May 2004
Reviewed by: POOHLAH
This was awesome! I used extra virgin olive oil in place of canola oil and used only 1 tablespoon of kosher salt. Excellent. This will be my 'staple' Italian dressing from now on!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Oct 2003
Reviewed by: NITROJEN
I'll make it again, but cut waaaay back on the salt next time. I mixed it in an old "Good Seasons" bottle--you know the kind with the little lines on the side for oil, water and vinegar? I noticed the lines measured up perfectly with the measurements given as long as I add the dressing mix first and then the vinegar, the water and oil (in that order). That makes it easier for those of you who have those bottles: no measuring! Anyway, it was too salty for us even though I used celery seed instead of celery salt. Maybe cut the salt in half, too? Just personal taste, otherwise great.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Dec 2009
Reviewed by: Dianne
I had problems with this recipe, but I was able to make it work for me. First, it is too salty. Use garlic powder instead of garlic salt and cut the salt way back (1 tsp. or less). Second, I had problems with both the dry and liquid ingredients separating. It's hard to combine the flakes with the granules. The liquid ingredients wouldn't stay mixed together, so I used an emulsifier that I read about a couple of months ago in Cooks Illustrated. I came up with this combination: 1 Tbsp. vinegar, 1/2 tsp. each dijon and mayo (the emulsifiers), 1 tsp. flakes from the mix, 1/2 tsp. granules from the mix, slowly drizzle in 3 Tbsp. olive oil while whisking. This worked brilliantly and the dressing stayed uniform!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Jun 2005
Reviewed by: CURLYG
Terrific flavor, I subsitute red vinegar, minimize salt & add parmesan cheese. We use as our Special House Dressing at our sub shop & everyone loves it. One problem, when making 1 gallon jars, the vinegar & oil separate so much (even after blending), we can't pour evenly into smaller shakers. Any suggestions are greatly appreciated! Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes