My Reviews (202)

Dijon Crusted Fish Steaks

This is a great recipe for cooking good thick fish steaks. Dijon mustard and horseradish make it extra tangy.
Reviews (202)


Comment:
29 Sep 2008
Casandra Yaz said:
Made it healthier. This was great! I used light mayo and extra virgin olive oil in place of the butter and it was delicious and healthy. Thanks for the great recipe!
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
MBERRYBLUE said:
Something else. As I was sharing this dinner with someone who is lactose intolerant, I could not use parmesan cheese in the recipe; instead, we added ground macadamia nuts - it turned out great. Even my seven-year-old (who hates both mustard and horseradish.. )
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
Altered ingredient amounts. This recipe is FANTASTIC! However, I would recommend using only 1 tsp. of the Dijon mustard- not 1 tbsp. The flavour of the Dijon mustard can be overpowering, potentially masking the flavour of the halibut. Also, make sure you cook it at a higher temperature. Otherwise, the breadcrumb-crusted fish will be a bit soggy at the bottom. However, if you use high heat, this will quickly evaporate all of the water that naturally comes out of the fish when baked. Other than that, this recipe has a GREAT flavour. The Parmesan adds a great flavour. I served it as a fish sandwich with aioli on the side. Delicious!!!
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
MINNDIE said:
Something else. Given comments that the fish needed more cooking time, wasn't crunchy or didn't get brown, I made a couple of small changes to correct. I raised the oven temperature to 220 degrees, put the pan on the upper third of the oven, and baked the fillets about 20 minutes. Also, I drizzled the fish with about 2 T. of extra melted butter, letting some of it flow onto the pan. These small changes made the coating crisp and golden brown and the fish perfectly cooked. While this is not my favourite way to prepare halibut, it was an interesting change. I won't be making this again, however, as hubby didn't like it at all (in fact, his ended up in the bin). He thought the topping too heavy and overpowering for this delicately flavoured fish, preferring it more simply prepared. I have to agree.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: KIMAR
Quick, easy and very tasty!
 
13 Apr 2002
Reviewed by: Elizabeth
This was great! I used fat free mayo and extra virgin olive oil in place of the butter and it was delicious and healthy. Thanks for the great recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Apr 2008
Reviewed by: SheffShannon
This recipe is FANTASTIC! However, I would recommend using only 1 tsp. of the Dijon mustard- not 1 tbsp. The flavor of the Dijon mustard can be overpowering, potentially masking the flavor of the halibut. Also, make sure you cook it at a higher temperature. Otherwise, the breadcrumb-crusted fish will be a bit soggy at the bottom. However, if you use high heat, this will quickly evaporate all of the water that naturally comes out of the fish when baked. Other than that, this recipe has a GREAT flavor. The Parmesan adds a great flavor. I served it as a fish sandwich with aioli on the side. Delicious!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Nov 2007
Reviewed by: naples34102
Given comments that the fish needed more cooking time, wasn't crunchy or didn't get brown, I made a couple of small changes to correct. I raised the oven temperature to 400 degrees, put the pan on the upper third of the oven, and baked the filets about 20 minutes. Also, I drizzled the fish with about 2 T. of extra melted butter, letting some of it flow onto the pan. These small changes made the coating crisp and golden brown and the fish perfectly cooked. While this is not my favorite way to prepare halibut, it was an interesting change. I won't be making this again, however, as hubby didn't like it at all (in fact, his ended up in the garbage can). He thought the topping too heavy and overpowering for this delicately flavored fish, preferring it more simply prepared. I have to agree.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: PIDGE
This is a killer recipe!! I Used halibut from Alaska which had been frozen and vacuumed sealed. I didn't have horseradish so instead used Trader Joes sweet hot mustard and didn't use the required Dijon mustard. I used 2 tablespoons. In place of the bread crumbs I used Panko Japenese Bread Crumbs. I also used Panko for mixing the topping. After cooking for 15 minutes at 350, I popped it under the broiler for about two minutes to get the top golden brown. This turned out great. Hubby was in heaven. Makes him want to go fishing for more halibut!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 May 2002
Reviewed by: INLATEX
As I was sharing this dinner with someone who is lactose intolerant, I could not use parmesan cheese in the recipe; instead, we added ground macadamia nuts - it turned out great. Even my seven-year-old (who hates both mustard and horseradish.. ) thought this fish was yummy. In response to the reviewer who thought that the ingredients overpowered the fish: use thick halibut steaks instead of fillets, and you will have plenty of fish flavour (and texture) to enjoy.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes