My Reviews (15)

Chocolate and Coffee Butter Cake

I made this for my friend's birthday cos she loves coffee and chocolate. Its not too hard but it helps if you've made a butter cake before - but then again - you gotta start somewhere!
Reviews (15)


11 Apr 2012
Reviewed by: Lemondragon
I'd never made a sponge before, and the first one of this I made came out really dense. It was only after I spoke with my gran that I found out that a sponge needs equal weights of butter, sugar, flour AND egg that I thought to weigh the egg before I added it to the mix ... and that everything needs to be aerated. Apart from that, it's a fairly easy recipe.
 
Comment:
18 Jan 2009
Altered ingredient amounts. it dosnt tell you how many eggs to use so i used 2
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
29 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: Nancygirlxx
Lovely- my first time makin a sponge in years and didnt have an eletric mixer! Made it by hand and it still came out beautiful.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
11 Nov 2008
Reviewed by: keletkezes
Had to make two of these for a party on demand of my friends who were going! I managed to scrounge a few crumbs...!! I used a mix of melted chocolate, made-up instant coffee and icing sugar for the icing and it was gorgeous.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
19 May 2010
Reviewed by: MOONBUGGY
Best chocolate cake recipe yet, coffee just takes the edge of the sweetness, made it first for a birthday but it is made every week now! love it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
04 Aug 2015
Reviewed by: jammydodger
I am basing my review on the reaction from the people that ate it!! I don't like coffee cake!! LOL I made it as a top tier for a wedding cake. Anyway, one said "totally lush, and now my new favourite cake", another said "it was fabulous" so I guess that is a good endorsement! I used a coffee infused icing sugar for the buttercream, which I purchased from "Sugar and Crumbs"....I did inadvertently taste the buttercream (got some on my fingers) and it was light, with a good coffee flavour. I then covered it in white chocolate ganache as a base for the fondant. I also used "Camp" coffee/chicory flavouring instead of the coffee granules!
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
06 Jan 2014
Reviewed by: Ria136
This makes a really nice, moist cake and is great for a birthday cake. I altered the amounts to make a three layer cake which looks really impressive.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
02 Oct 2009
Reviewed by: tomhflx
Note that ingrediants do not mention eggs - i used 4.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
16 Jul 2017
Reviewed by: BiancaRose
Delicious! My cake tin was a bit too big so it was sunken in the middle but thats ok. Ill add more coffee next time too.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
28 May 2017
Reviewed by: Tezmum
Liked it but found the coffee taste too strong for me. But that's personal taste. If you like weak coffee use less!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes