My Reviews (29)

Welsh Fruit Loaf - Bara Brith

The fruit loaf is a traditional Welsh tea cake and is best eaten spread with butter with a cup of tea! Allow time to soak the fruit overnight. Check the cake after an hour, if it browns too quickly cover it with foil and return to the oven.
Reviews (29)


09 Dec 2017
Reviewed by: EdM
I’m loving this recipe! Very easy with delicious results. Like many others I at least doubled the spices and added ground ginger. The first time I made it I used dried fruit I had on hand: raisins, cranberries and currants. Now I’m off to the races. The latest batch I’m calling “Tropical Bara Brith” and have used a few currants, orange cranberries, pineapple and, wait for it, about 1/4 cup of dark Hawaiian rum. I also put on an apricot glaze when they came out of the oven. I also cut down on the sugar since they were a little sweet. I also baked these in mini loaf pans so I can give as gifts. They took about 40-45 minutes to bake. I do think the baking time in the directions is way to long. I bought a lot of different dried fruit so will keep going. My tiny Welsh Nana wasn’t much of a baker, but she would have loved these.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
17 Feb 2017
Reviewed by: leatrix
Absolutely delicious! I'd never tasted this tea loaf before and as I needed to road test some recipes for the upcoming school, St. David's Day event, I decided Bara Brith would be perfect. The recipe was super easy to follow and came out beautifully. Can't wait to make it again for the event now I tweaked only a smidge and added a full teaspoon of spices
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
23 Jan 2017
Reviewed by: HairyBear
I used a full teaspoon each of cinnamon and mixed spice. Added a teaspoon of baking powder too. Added the zest of a small lemon to the mix. Made a glaze of one tablespoon of orange marmalade with the juice from the lemon, warmed in a small pan and brushed over the (pierced) cake as it was cooling on the rack. Lushness 👌
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
25 Oct 2016
Reviewed by: Walesforeva
Firstly yes mamgu is grandma in welsh, but it is called just bara brith not mamgus bara brith, its a welsh recipe thats it, But i have to say i have made it and was a huge succeess to many other ones ive tried this is a really good one to follow thank you
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
03 Jun 2016
Reviewed by: cozytoad
Awesome and easy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
18 Apr 2016
Reviewed by: Blazeyb
Wonderful recipe, and hard to believe this loaf could be so soft without the addition of any fat at all. In place of the sugar, I used a combination of 1 tsp Truvia and 2 tbsp muscovado sugar. I felt 170g of sugar would be too much, given the sweetness from the dried fruit. It was plenty sweet enough, and divine with a cup of tea. Thanks for sharing this great recipe. So quick and easy to whip up; I'll be making it regularly.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
22 Feb 2016
Reviewed by: allythedog
I made this Bara Brith today so easy to make,smells lovely and tastes delish.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
28 Oct 2015
Reviewed by: GillMurrell
Easy to make, which suits me. Hubby loved it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
31 Aug 2015
Reviewed by: MelThomas
Easy to make, lovely with a brew.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
31 Aug 2015
Reviewed by: Zog238
It was brilliant, reminded me of my grandmothers recipe. Now being diabetic type 2, instead of the sugar, I used SPLENDA and this worked out great, as I only used 6 tsps, well pleased with result.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes