My Reviews (59)

Anadama Polenta Loaf

Treacle and polenta distinguish this dark, sweet bread. It's best when hot out of the oven or toasted. You can substitute molasses or golden syrup for the treacle.
Reviews (59)


Comment:
08 Oct 2008
Mark P said:
Altered ingredient amounts. This bread was excellent! As with most breads I make, I adapted the recipe to use sourdough and the result was out of this world. I doubled the recipe to make two loaves and every last crumb of bread has been eaten -- the family loved it! I'm making this again next week.
 
08 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: MANDT2
MMmmmm... very hearty, nice & dense, and just sweet enough - especially with a tiny bit of butter. This is great with a soup or stew (we had boiled cabbage with potatoes and sausage) - a perfect combo! It's also nice & quick, as far homemade bread goes. We really enjoy it hot from the oven, but I seriously doubt we'll have any left over to try it toasted... We'll be making this often in our house. Thanks for the recipe!
 
08 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: JTWOODARD
This is a classic bread recipe that tastes great. I have made it 3 times and it comes out great every time.
 
08 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: SERRA_G
Gorgeous! I ate the whole thing myself!
 
08 Feb 2003
Reviewed by: Lisa Scott Provost
MMmmmm... very hearty, nice & dense, and just sweet enough - especially with a tiny bit of butter. This is great with a soup or stew (we had boiled cabbage with potatoes and sausage) - a perfect combo! It's also nice & quick, as homemade bread goes. We really enjoy it hot from the oven, but I seriously doubt we'll have any left over to try it toasted... We'll be making this often in our house. Thanks for the recipe! (By the way, how the heck is this pronounced?)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Aug 2006
Reviewed by: CookinMama
As is the proportions seem wrong. I made this with 3 cups flour (1 cup whole wheat flour, 2 cups bread flour) 1/3 cup fine ground cornmeal, 1 pkg quick rise yeast, 1 cup hot water, 1/4 cup blackstrap molasses (we love hardy molasses), 3 TB butter, 1 tsp salt and 1 egg. Use warm water (120-130 degrees F)since we used quick rise yeast (aka rapid rise). Baked at 350 for 30 minutes. We are in Anadama heaven! I also did not soak the cornmeal since I used finely ground cornmeal--but even so the crunch is pleasant. I also did not knead this dough--dough will be sticky, just place in 2qt well greased round casserole dish and cover with plastic wrap sprayed with cooking spray and let rise for about 1hr. Using the above measurements and changes this is a 5 star Anadama Bread recipe!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Dec 2000
Reviewed by: PAUL STONE
This is a classic bread recipe that tastes great. I have made it 3 times and it comes out great every time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Nov 2003
Reviewed by: MACKALLEN
I like this anadama bread a little less than the other anadama recipe (Eleanor Johnson's, which I make without the blueberries), but that's probably just personal preference. This one is more dense, not as feathery light. It gets a hard crust, which is good. You can taste the molasses more in this one than you can in Eleanor's as well, which isn't necessarily a selling point for me but might be for some folks.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Aug 2008
Reviewed by: chefjef
Excellent bread-- been making it for ten years... Did you know that this dough also makes the best "doughboys" (fried dough) EVER ??!! Just form it into a piece about 1/4-inch thick-- shape how you wish. I just make them oblong. Deep fry in 350 deg oil --just until golden-brown, turn over for a minute or 2 more on the other side. Place on a cooling-rack over a cookie-sheet... sprinkle with confectioners sugar or cinnamon-sugar. Serve warm.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Mar 2003
Reviewed by: Pillowtrot
This bread was excellent! As with most breads I make, I adapted the recipe to use sourdough and the result was out of this world. The molasses makes the bread sweet without being cloying, and the cormeal gives it a delightful texture. I doubled the recipe to make two loaves and every last crumb of bread has been eaten -- the family loved it! I'm making this again next week.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes