My Reviews (11)

Fruit and Rum Cake

This is an alcohol rich fruit cake. If you don't like rum then substitute it for brandy. It takes time to do it properly but it is worth the effort.
Reviews (11)


Comment:
10 Dec 2011
I have just soaked the fruit - this is similar to a cake I used to make about 20 years ago and lost the recipe. I'm confused by the cooks note - does it mean use half the fruit for this recipe or does it mean halve all the ingredients and make two cakes. Appreciate feed back on this. Many thanks
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
22 May 2012
Reviewed by: Lexington1985
I want to make this as my wedding cake and have just soaked all the fruit but I'm very confused about the cook's note at the bottom. Should I use all of the soaked fruit after the two week soaking period or should I only use half but keep the rest of the ingredients at the same quantities? I don't want to mess this up!
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
14 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: sweetyvonne
100 % very nice
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
30 Sep 2012
Reviewed by: joanne71
Hi I am not sure when she said old Newspaper dose that mean we have to do something to it before we can put it in the oven please can someone help as this is my 1st time marketing rum cake thanx
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
Comment:
21 Jul 2012
Li-Mya said:
I believe the footnote is saying that the fruit that was prepared will be enough for you to make two cakes,just follow the recipe/method to bake the cake again,which would be ideal for making a wedding cake.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
27 May 2015
Reviewed by: shim88
I changed it up abit I used port wine brandy and rum I did everything else the same and this cake turned out lovely. I had enough for two cake tins. Its moist and it is exactly how I remembered eating it a child. Given away two slices but no more I'm keeping the rest for me now lol.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
10 Mar 2016
Reviewed by: Jay1_2
3 1/4 hours!!! I checked at 1 1/2 hours luckily..they had started burning/drying out. Looks like it could have done with 15-25mins less.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
13 Dec 2015
Reviewed by: VSS1902
Wonderful tasting cake! Great recipe. I whipped up the egg whites 'till stiff then folded them into the mix. I have baked this twice before and is my Christmas cake. The taster was demolished by family!
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
05 Mar 2015
Reviewed by: Spiceyp
Made this cake at least twice ! I absolutely love it . I have reduced the temp though to 2hours /30 and used spiced rum rather than Wray and Nephew (too strong) . Thank you so much for posting this !
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
21 Dec 2014
Reviewed by: MarciaW
Confused about the end note. I made it with all the fruit and came out perfect!
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes