My Reviews (86)

Cumin Potatoes

Called 'aloo jeera,' this is a delicious Indian side dish comprising chunks of warm potato tossed with cumin, turmeric and curry powder.
Reviews (86)


Comment:
29 Sep 2008
SPARKS84 said:
Something else. Delicious! I have on esuggestion. When I was in Nepal a year ago, I watched someone make this recipe, only minus the coriander (a delicious variation!). To make the flavour go all the way through the potatos, she simply fried cut raw potatos with the spices for about 5 minutes and then added water and then pressure cooked everything together. The flavour went all the way through the potatoes! I have done this with just a covered pot and let it cook longer. Glad this great dish is on the site!
 
07 Sep 2012
Reviewed by: Soiux
Delicious! I made it as a previous reviewer suggested. I fried the potatoes in the spices, added water and cooked it in my pressure cooker. When the potatoes were cooked, I removed the lid, added tomato puree and garam masala and simmered until all the liquid had reduced. I found the recipe, made it and was eating it in just over 40 mins! Next time I will reduce the salt to 1 tsp.
 
21 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: Suzieque
 
Comment:
21 Feb 2011
Suzieque said:
Something else. I sprinkle sesame seeds on top just prior to serving. It gives it a nice crunch
 
Comment:
12 Apr 2009
I make potato wedges by coarsely chopping potatoes, boiling until tender, and frying them in veg oil like your recipe. The one thing you do different is saute spices in the oil - thanks for the tip
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
TANYA-RENEE said:
Something else. A Keeper - you must like cumin and curry!!! Had to use regular potatoes - put them whole in jackets in water, brought to boil, boiled another 20 min. When cooled, peeled off jackets. Cut potatoes into 1/4 in. slices. Followed recipe - having to use a bit more oil than called for. They are great hot and at room temperature - and what little was left I ended up noshing on cold for a snack the next day.
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
MASSIVEMO1 said:
Altered ingredient amounts. A truly delicious side dish! We had it with Basmati rice and Indian Chicken Curry II. I did follow the advice of a previous reviewer and reduced the salt to just 1 tsp.. It was excellent.
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
Altered ingredient amounts. I made this dish last night and it was a huge hit! I also added liquid because I wanted more of a curry dish than a dry dish. I cut the potatoes first and then boiled them. I also used half of the turmeric powder. Once the potatoes were done, I drained them and added one bullion cube and 1 can of evaporated milk (could have also used a can of coconut milk but didn't have any) to them. Then mixed the spices with the dish and added salt to taste. I also loved the coriander, it was a subtle yet great twist!
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: ELIZZYC
Chef Brian Aragon wrote: "A flavourful side dish of Indian cuisine. This dish blends the mild flavour of cumin with the unrelenting spice of curry. A truly engaging dish." "Curry" is a generic term for a powder which is a combination of many spices. As such, it's use in this dish may be seen as essentially redundent. Look at a container of "curry" and you will see many of the spices he added.
 
04 Jan 2005
Reviewed by: missliss
Delicious! I have one suggestion. When I was in Nepal a year ago, I watched someone make this recipe, only minus the cilantro (a delicious variation!) and I think with some red pepper. To make the flavor go all the way through the potatoes, she simply fried cut raw potatoes with the spices, and at least 4 Tbls of oil, for about 5 minutes and then added water and then pressure cooked everything together. The flavor went all the way through the potatoes! I have done this with just a covered pot and let it cook longer. Glad this great dish is on the site!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes