My Reviews (25)

Chilli Chutney

This is a frugal use of extra chillies. It is a wonderful chutney that can store for up to a year. Warning: the longer you keep it the hotter it gets.
Reviews (25)


04 Mar 2014
Reviewed by: Lindajean66
Great aromas in this dish... I added capsicum as well as my husband doesn't like hot hot, and this has came out well. Is hot though...
 
21 Mar 2016
Reviewed by: Debora-Margaret
I have made this chutney a few times. Type of chilli alters the heat so it's good to try a few different chillies. I even made this with Jalapenos. Apart from using the chutney as a base for curries, stir-fries, casseroles and slow cooked meals I also use the chutney with crackers and a good matured cheese - sensational! The last time I made this recipe I put the chillies in the food processor and added some lemongrass. Blending makes a great paste that can be used the same as already mentioned. Also labelled neatly makes for a great gift.
 
Comment:
23 Aug 2010
Hank6 said:
Sounds great and I'm anxious to make it, just that the way you use the chilli is not mentioned, whether it's used whole, or in the case it's chopped, or cut into small pieces do you include the seeds for this recipe or not?
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
11 Jun 2012
Reviewed by: Acro_d
Delicious and addictive. Used 20% less oil as an experiment, which was fine. Now can't resist sneaking into the cupboard and eating it by the teaspoon..
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
01 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: zpider242
Reduced ingredient quantities to make one jar to see how it tastes and it is pretty good (and hot). Can't wait to have it with some Indian savouries and bread. Will make bigger batch next time to give to friends to try and will also try with various other vegetables.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
02 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: ChefDigby
Face meltingly hot and very tasty. Chopped the chillies and left seeds in. So nice i had to mop up the juices from the pan with bread once i'd filled my Jar. Can't wait for it to mature over next few months.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
20 Oct 2012
Reviewed by: PaulGriffiths
oh my word... Used this recipe with a load of home grown chillis. Absolutely amazing.... Perfect taste, I didn't want to put it in a jar.....wanted to just have a cheeky little spoonful all evening. Definitely recommend if you have a load of chillis lying about. V easy to make too... Oh I added 4 cloves of garlic finely chopped too.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
19 Mar 2012
Reviewed by: Delia73
What a splendid recipe. My husband
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
23 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: giles_littlefield
NIce easy recipe, maybe use a touch less oil
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
26 May 2012
Reviewed by: lulu-shakey
Made this once and it was lovely - the cumin really adds depth to the flavour of the chillies. I sliced the chillies by hand but may try finely chopping them in the food processor. BTW, this is REALLY good with steak and burgers!
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes