My Reviews (232)

Japanese Cucumber Salad

Often called "Cucumber Sunomono", this dish is just vinegared cucumbers with salt, sugar and ginger. Makes a delicious entree or side dish that is very refreshing.
Reviews (232)


19 May 2007
Reviewed by: Kayko
First of all, this salad is called "SUNOMONO", not "Sunomo". It's Japanese. I give this recipe 4 stars because it's quite good but I made a few additions that made it 5 stars. I added some thin carrot shavings made with my vegetable peeler. The carrot tastes good with this dressing and adds a really nice touch of colour. I also added several drops of toasted sesame oil and a tiny bit of cracked pepper. Just before serving I added toasted sesame seeds. Everyone loved it
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 May 2011
Reviewed by: JENNEFFERE
Great recipe. Thank you. Some people are so rude! It's called this not that. I added this this and that etc... If people are going to add so much to a recipe, then you are not following the recipe, so how can you rate it one way or another? If you insist on changing so much on a recipe, write your own and don't say you followed somone's recipe (but made your own additions) and then leave them 4 stars after you completely changed the recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Sep 2011
Reviewed by: Catkin
Delicious and light. I use Mizkan rice vinegar, there are two versions - seasoned and unseasoned. If you use the seasoned variety like I did here, you do not need to add salt or sugar. I simply sliced the cucumber, added the vinegar and grated the ginger and that was it for a fab salad! As a tip, freeze your ginger and take it out of the freezer to grate as necessary (no need to wait to thaw out, just grate and pop the rest back in the freezer). Ginger grated like this will be finer than you can chop with a knife and give a lighter background finish to your dish.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 May 2011
Reviewed by: Spunky Buddy
This was tasty and refreshing. It went great with our main dish, "Japanese Beef Stir Fry," recipe also from this site, and would also be wonderful with sushi. I had something similar at an excellent sushi restaurant in Minneapolis and this was almost a carbon copy. A little sweet (I used Splenda), a little gingery, but that's the way it's supposed to be. A definite "make again."
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Aug 2005
Reviewed by: JustKC
Excellent summer salad. Refreshing and light. I omitted the ginger and added some shredded carrot and nori (seaweed). The perfect side dish for our sushi roll dinner. Even my toddler liked the salad.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Feb 2006
Reviewed by: librarylady
This is a standby for a light, palate-cleansing, cooling side to many of the spicy dishes we enjoy at my house. It's not a stand-alone salad though. I sometimes substitute dry ginger (about 3/4 tsp) for the fresh, if I don't have any. I always use Splenda instead of sugar for lower calories and carbs.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Feb 2006
Reviewed by: HAILBUZZY
This reminds me of a similar cucumber dish my Mom makes - this one's is just a bit sweeter. My mom also includes thinly sliced red onion in her's - it adds a nice little variety in texture. A deliciously light side dish.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Oct 2005
it was so-so. Too sweet.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Apr 2000
Reviewed by: jng
Very good! The only part that takes some time is the cutting of the cucumbers. I omitted the ginger because I did not have any at home, but it still was delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Oct 2001
Reviewed by: DEBLEH
Wonderful! A light, refreshing dish for either an appetizer or side salad. I sprinkled a few sesame seeds on top and it was fabulous!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes