My Reviews (191)

Oven Crusty White Bread

If you are looking for a simple white loaf of bread to cook in your oven this is a great recipe with all the instructions you need.
Reviews (191)


21 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: dannyt
worst bread ever! way way way way way too wet.check your figures pls.
 
14 Jul 2009
Reviewed by: margiemill
There seems to be too much liquid in this recipe. My dough was more like a batter
 
Comment:
22 Feb 2010
Allrecipes said:
We've just adjusted the amount of flour in this recipe from 500g to 800g after checking the original submission.
 
07 Jan 2005
Reviewed by: Wave
For a Professional Baker to say a Home recipe is Fantastic... is usually Just a Compliment, but I MUST say This Recipe IS Fantastic! Liquid to Dry mixture ratio is easy to adjust, if need be.The Kneading if done gently, is perfect for a fine crust and a silkin inner texture.The bake time is just right ( i use 9" X 12" X 3" pan half full of water, on the bottom rack,below the rack with the bread, for added moisture in the oven)Three Cheers to You "DINGO", Three cheers indeed.My Home Bread from now on! Thanks Again !
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Jul 2002
Reviewed by: MAGGIE SUNFLOWER
This recipie was delicious! I made this recipe away from home and had no bread pans so I just tossed the entire piece of dough, which would have made 2 loaves into a large non-stick wok/skillet and it came out as a beautiful large round loaf! I didn't need to extend cooking time at all. I just kept my eye on it and took it out when it was brown enough. The family loved it! It even tasted great the next day...still very moist. Thanks a lot for this one!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: Brianna F.
Fabulous! I made the bread with skim milk and all purpous flour because that is what I had on hand. I also reduced the baking time to 25 minutes. Absolutely wonderful bread! My new white bread recipe, for sure.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 May 2005
Reviewed by: JPMJ
Instead of baking this recipe in normal loaf pans I placed a ball of dough in opposite corners of a cookie sheet to get two round loaves. One I made into a bread bowl to hold spinach dip and the other I cut into chunks to dip with. It worked out well-- I'd do it again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: Mrs O'C
I've made this about six times now and the whole thing works perfectly. I also have added wheat germ and oat bran, raisins, craisins and dried cherries. (no, not all at once.) When you add anything dry you need to adjust the wet ingredients as well. The dough is beautiful all the time and the bread has a lovely silky texture. I do tend to hand knead a bit longer than I might have done with a whole wheat for instance-but the dough comes out very silky and terrific. I make this all the time and my family loves it. Thanks for the great recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Jan 2005
Reviewed by: MERRECK
Made half the recipe and it was EXCELLENT. Moist, nice crust, even light airy crumb and lovely flavour. I had to use about 1/4 cup more flour than called for. The dough is slightly wetter which makes the bread so moist so don't try to add more flour to make it drier. The dough also is quite spongy when shaping for loaf - that is normal so don't try and squeeze all the gas out. Baked for 25 mins @ 400F middle shelf.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: blackberrygrl
I love this bread! I've been looking for a great loaf bread to use for toast, sandwiches, etc. I change the recipe to 12 servings for only one loaf. I also like the flavor a lot more when I use honey rather than sugar; I use about 1 tbsp. When I make one loaf, I generally use @ 3-1/2 cups flour. I bake mine for about 25 minutes and it has a nice density and chewiness that I enjoy. I brush mine with melted butter rather than mist with water. GREAT for morning toast w/ a pat of butter. Mmm!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes