My Reviews (139)

Custard Crème Caramel

A delicious custard pudding with a caramel sauce. This is served in individual ramekins - the perfect dinner party dessert.
Reviews (139)


Comment:
29 Sep 2008
KAILASMITH said:
Something else. I added a few drops of vanilla, but the recipe is delicious either way.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: WEB-BETTY
Flan is one of my favourite desserts but I didn't enjoy this version as much as another recipe I've tried from this site. It didn't set up as I'd hoped and I really prefer the kind made with condensed milk. Glad I gave it a shot. Thanks anyway Bobby.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: AKRITZ
So easy and so perfect! I wanted to make flan to go with a Mexican dinner, but didn't have condensed or evaporated milk, (which most of the flan recipes call for). I followed the recipe (adding NO vanilla) and both my husband and I thought the caramel flavouring was all it needed. I had no problem melting the sugar. Just remember to use only medium heat so it doesn't cook too fast. Thanks for a great, simple flan recipe!
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: krone9
Wow, this was really good and very easy to prepare. I added vanilla extract and a small amount of rum extract. A big hit with the family!!!
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: GLASSGUY
Yummm, this is sooo good. I never thought flan would be easy to make, but this recipe makes it sooo easy and so yummy. I did add 1/8 tsp. vanilla.
 
10 May 2006
Reviewed by: Chef W
I don't understand the poor ratings that this recipe has been given! This flan is great. It's definitely not the over-dense, over-syrupy-sweet American flan, this is real, fabulous flan. It's sweet without being overpowering, and holds together tightly without being dense. It's light and beautiful when it's done! Definitely party-worthy. I did make some changes: (1)Doubled the recipe and used 8 eggs (didn't differentiate between whites and whole eggs). (2) Added 2 t. of vanilla. (3) Put it in two large ceramic dishes. (4) Added 1 c. of heavy cream (1/2 c., if you didn't double the recipe). It turned out absolutely marvelous! I'll definitely be making it again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Oct 2006
Reviewed by: SandyBakes
So easy and so perfect! I wanted to make flan to go with a Mexican dinner, but didn't have condensed or evaporated milk, (which most of the flan recipes call for). I followed the recipe (adding NO vanilla) and both my husband and I thought the caramel flavoring was all it needed. I had no problem melting the sugar. Just remember to use only medium heat so it doesn't cook too fast. Thanks for a great, simple flan recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 May 2002
Reviewed by: TISHAMANNING
Wow, this was really good and very easy to prepare. I added vanilla extract and a small amount of rum extract. A big hit with the family!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Jul 2006
Reviewed by: user
As a poor college student, this is the easiest and cheapest recipe for flan I've come accross. It's hard to make flan without a fully stocked kitchen but this recipe works well. I would recommend adding vanilla or almond extract as it can really only add to the flavor of the recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 May 2003
Reviewed by: JOSIE
Flan is one of my favorite desserts but I didn't enjoy this version as much as another recipe I've tried from this site. It didn't set up as I'd hoped and I really prefer the kind made with condensed milk. Glad I gave it a shot. Thanks anyway Bobby.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes