My Reviews (50)

Cranberry Orange Fruit Loaf

A dense fruit bread made with cranberries. It's perfect at Christmas time.
Reviews (50)


08 Dec 2012
Reviewed by: MichellePokorny
This is the first cranberry bread recipe I've had success with from scratch! It's very simple to make with the bread maker. I leave out the walnuts though as I'm not used to having walnuts with cranberry bread. Juicy in the middle and yet fluffy like a cake. Just perfect! I make it for my hubby who is American and lives in Australia now, he misses this bread but not anymore! Many thanks.
 
15 Nov 2007
Reviewed by: UNCgal
Now a family favorite! I made this the first time, but threw in about 1/8C sugar because I feared the "yeast" would not do its thing without sugar! The second time, I followed another reviewer's advice and increased the cranberries and the walnuts, and I like it even better. I also discovered that this bread is actually better after a couple of days....the problem is, it doesn't last that long!!!! Thanks for sharing!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Jul 2007
Reviewed by: srf99
I've made this recipe 3 times now and it is absolutely wonderful. Based on my first "trial run" of the recipe, I recommend adding an additional 1/2 cup cranberries and 1/3 cup walnuts. I made the recipe 2 more times with those additional ingredients and it got rave reviews!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Nov 2001
Reviewed by: Brenda
Absolutely wonderful, so moist and tasty. I didn't put in the walnut this time, but cannot wait to make it again. the girls at work rated it a 10!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Oct 2006
Reviewed by: CHARITYBOO
This is SO good! I replaced 1 cup of bread flour with wheat flour, and added some dried currants to make up for not enough dried cranberries. I also added about 1/4 cup sugar along with honey and baked it in the oven.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Nov 2001
Reviewed by: Wyoming Carol
Thanks for this excellent recipe. We have been buying cranberry-orange bread at "Costco" (quite expensive), but this is as good.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: JMERRILL
Made this bread for holiday gift giving. It's delicous. My only changes were to use half whole wheat flour and toasted pecans in place of the walnuts as I had some leftover from another recipe. Great toasted for breakfast. Will definitely make again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: Emily
I loved this recipe but I do not have a bread machine! I converted this to the traditional method, and thought I would share it: 1 cup orange juice 2 tablespoons vegetable oil 1 (.25 ounce) package active dry yeast, proofed by package directions 3 cups bread flour 1 tablespoon dry milk powder 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon 2 teaspoons vanilla extract 1 teaspoon salt 1 1/2 tablespoons grated orange zest 1 1/2 cups sweetened dried cranberries Proof the yeast according to package directions. Allow it to sit until thick and frothy. Combine Orange Juice, vegetable oil and yeast, set aside. In a seperate bowl, combine all dry ingredients, orange zest and cranberries and add gradually to wet ingredients. Combine as well as you can, then knead the dough on a floured surface until smooth and soft. Place back into the bowl, cover, and leave in a warm area to rise until doubled. When dough has risen, punch it down and shape into a loaf. Place it in a greased loaf pan, or, for a round loaf, on a greased baking sheet. Rise again until doubled. Bake at 350 degrees for around 45-50 minutes, or until bread is golden brown and sounds hollow when tapped.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 May 2008
Reviewed by: RhondaVoos66
I made this yesterday in my bread machine, ate the last few slices for breakfast this morning toasted and spread with cream cheese, it was great!!! I used fresh squeezed orange juice and cranberries and walnuts, accidentally used too much allspice and it was still wonderful. I will definately make this again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Nov 2007
Reviewed by: taft751
Very good! Love the flavors and texture the walnuts add. Did substitute 1 c whole wheat flour and soaked cranberries in warm water before adding. Definitely will be making again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes