My Reviews (42)

Zucchini Vegetable Soup

A simple zucchini soup recipe with some onions, tomato and herbs added. Use vegetable stock to make it all vegetarian.
Reviews (42)


05 Sep 2002
Reviewed by: ELIZZYC
Great way to use up those end-of-the-summer veggies. Have already made it twice - first time added some pasta to make it more of a meal, second time served it as an appetizer topped with fresh grated parmesan cheese. Delish! Used all the seasonings from the recipe, but increased them by quite a bit - was a teeny bit bland to start with.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Jan 2006
Reviewed by: KARATEGIRL2001
This is an incredibly tasty soup, as good as any in restaurants. It was great to make a big pot of this when I was in college. I'd have lunch ready for me every day for a week. I love to give this to my friends who are just starting to cook as an easy tried and true recipe. One time I made this and I only had cucumbers in the house, so I used those instead of zucchini and they worked just as well. Thanks for the recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Nov 2005
Reviewed by: MORABITO79
i used two cans of seasoned diced tomatoes and added a little more hot sauce. delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Sep 2003
Reviewed by: I'm nuts too...
I agree that this is a great way to use up garden veges, however it had the look and texture of jarred baby food carrots (it was odd that it turned orange). I would recommend deseeding the zucchini because it had seeds in it that didn't puree. Although it didn't taste bad, but it wasn't "wow" either. Thanks anyway Beverly.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: Dmseck
REALLY good! I wanted a chunky soup, so didn't puree; rather, I mashed the cooked veggies against the side of the pot to break it up some. Left out the sugar and nutmeg, used extra garlic, a carrot, and fresh cilantro, instead of parsley. Also, used crushed red pepper flakes for the heat, and the chopped garlic adds a little heat, as well. I don't understand anyone saying it's bland. Sauteing in oil releases lots of flavor! Make sure you drain the water off the salted zucchini, or soup will be too salty. Thanks for this recipe, as I'm STILL trying to use up zucchini & summer squash from the garden!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Sep 2009
Reviewed by: tracynjason
I made this exactly as the recipe said and it was really good. My husband does not like tomatoes or zucchini and really liked this soup.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Jul 2013
Reviewed by: redladydownaol.com
one of the nicest soups ive had nice for a summer day .. more lemon and pepper thats personal
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
08 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: bellbellbell
I get so many compliments on this soup it's crazy! I usually double the batch because it's so popular, and I want some left over for lunch. The only thing I change is the parsley - I don't like it, so I omit it. And I use fresh basil instead. And a bit more garlic than is probably necessary...
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: gapch1026
A taste of summer in the middle of winter... I followed the recipe exactly EXCEPT I added yellow squash in addition to the zucchini and slightly more of the seasonings and spices. Thinned it at the very end with a little milk as suggested. I only pureed it slightly to retain some chunks of texture and color. I enjoyed this and WILL be making it again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: Jansen
This is soooo delicious!! Only changes I made are I used 3 large tomatoes (about 2 cups) and used fresh herbs including a little cilantro and put them in the blender with the veggies. Will definitely be making this again soon. Give this a try...you won't be disappointed.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes