My Reviews (67)

Zucchini and Cinnamon Cake

This zucchini cake is a dense cake a bit like carrot cake. I frequently add in some extras like sultanas or coconut or walnuts - if you want to do this, add them with the zucchini.
Reviews (67)


19 Aug 2008
Reviewed by: PeanutAshes
This recipe was excellent and very easy to make. It took about 3 zucchini in order to get the 3 cups required. Definitely make sure you let the zucchini drain after grating it as it is extremely juicy, I took a large spoon and mashed it in the colander to get a lot more juice out. I tried it in a bundt pan which took about 50-55 minutes and came out extremely moist. Highly recommend this recipe!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: TLeaves
Fantastic! This recipe used the most zucchini, but sooooo much sugar. I cut the sugar to 1/2 Cup each white and brown. Sweet enough with the applesauce. And I used half white and half whole wheat flours. And to get the moisture out of the grated zuke, just squeeze it in your hands. Very moist and delicious. With the spices, it kinda reminded me of pumpkin bread. We loved this more than the chocolate zucchini cake. I made it twice this week already.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Jul 2009
Reviewed by: KingsHorses
Very good and moist. I cut the white sugar down to 1 1/2 cups and it was plenty. I frosted with cream cheese frosting (http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Cream-Cheese-Frosting-II/Detail.aspx). I also used 1 1/2 tsp cinnamon, pinch cardamom, nutmeg & 1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice. Really good!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: Lauren
This cake was awesome! I have never before commented on a recipe I've used from this site but this cake turned out perfectly. So perfect, in fact, that I made it twice in one week. (My brother and sister-in-law were visiting and ate up the first one.) Thanks for sharing!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Nov 2008
Reviewed by: jeffrey
Very simple to make. Next time I will have to add some raisins. Some things I altered were the spices and applesauce, instead I just used a Tablespoon of pumpkin spice and 4 Tablespoons of butter.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Sep 2009
Reviewed by: Gramma K
This cake is extremely moist & very delicious! I made it according to your recipe except my applesauce was not unsweetened and I frosted it with cream cheese frosting & chopped walnuts. I've had 3 requests for the recipe and oodles of compliments. Thanks for sharing!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: BlueIris038
What a great cake! I did lighten it some with excellent results. I used 2 eggs & 1/2 cup egg substitute, 2 cups of all-purpose flour & one cup of whole wheat, and 1 cup of white sugar & 1 cup of Splenda. Fabulous! Thank you, BECCARAE1!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: amerrill
what a great way to use up some of my zucchini...and sneak some veggies in on the kids.. i made this for a co-worker..she said her kids loved it..and her mom said it goes great with morning coffee..two thumbs up
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: Darwen
Fantastic recipe, beautiful spice flavour and nice moist texture, dates added to this recipe was a great compliment.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: Mary A.
Took much longer to bake than in the directions. I added 3/4 cup carrots decreased the oil by 1/4 c and added 1/2 c more applesauce. Next time I'll completely omit the oil because its still very moist. Delicious nonetheless!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes