My Reviews (62)

Spicy Cranberry Bread

A fruit bread that gets it flavour from dried cranberries. This is a bread machine recipe so very easy to make.
Reviews (62)


Comment:
08 Oct 2008
Chelsey E said:
Something else. Really liked this recipe! Moist with just the perfect amount of cranberries. Doubled the spices as suggested and also substituted 4T water for 4T OJ. I don't have a bread machine, so I dissolved the yeast in the warm water and let it sit, mixed together dry ingredients (EXCEPT 200g flour) added the butter (melted) and liquid stuff. Then I mixed/kneaded in the last bit of flour. Kneaded about 8 minutes (until elastic-y) and then let rise until it doubled (about 1hr), put in a greased loaf tin and let rise again (mine took about 40-50min to double) and then baked at 200 for 15 min and then reduced to 180 for 25 min (mine is an electric oven and somewhat goofy, so you might need to adjust the baking time)
 
Comment:
08 Oct 2008
KIMAR said:
Altered ingredient amounts. Yum! I doubled the spices as suggested by other reviewers, and only had fresh (thawed) cranberries. YUM! gorgeous hot, or toasted
 
08 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: Salty Lady
I tried this recipe over the weekend and was very impressed. It made a nicely chewy, just sweet enough loaf although I will probably add more dried cranberries next time (a personal preference). I strongly recommend soaking the dried cranberries to plump them before adding them to the dough. Toasts nicely.
 
08 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: GINNYG
This recipe was very simple to put together, but I felt like it lacked spice. Next time I make it, I think I'll double the cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves. The cranberries were fabulous, though!
 
17 Jan 2013
Reviewed by: Lizveg08
Delicious! Doubled the spices, this was good advice
 
08 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: CARDZANDCOINZ
Great recipe! We love it!
 
07 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: amelia
Really liked this recipe! Moist with just the perfect amount of cranberries (I used craisins) Doubled the spices as suggested and also substituted 1/4 cup water for 1/4 cup OJ. I don't have a bread machine, so I dissolved the yeast in the warm water and let it sit, mixed together dry ingredients (EXCEPT 1 cup flour) added the butter (melted) and liquid stuff. Then I mixed/kneaded in the last cup of flour. Kneaded about 8 minutes (until elastic-y)and then let rise until it doubled (about 1hr), put in a greased loaf pan and let rise again (mine took about 40-50min to double) and then baked at 400F for 15 min and then reduced to 350F for 25 min (mine is an electric oven and somewhat goofy, so you might need to adjust the baking time)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Mar 2005
Reviewed by: CHOCOLATECHIPS
This sounds great but I don't have a bread machine - will the recipe still work if I make it by hand?
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: Ty T.
Wow. This is the best bread I have ever eaten! I have had it every morning for breakfast, and now I'm making another loaf. It is even more wonderful if you add 1/2 of pecan pieces with the cranberries. I could eat nothing else but this bread for the rest of my life and be very happy.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: Irene
I doubled the cranberries and the spices except for the cloves. I added a 1/2 cup of walnuts because it's all I had--it was great and 1 full cup would have been perfect.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes